Gluten-Free Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Great recipe, really yummy! I wanted something we could use for hiking or those days when you're working really hard and need some quick energy. I made mine with lots of nuts. These are not low calorie with all of the chocolate, sugar, and nuts, but they are not meant to be. I feel like you could easily modify the recipe to make them a bit lower calorie for every day snacking. These are more like a meal than a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tok, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Made these last night. Made a little extra of both the dry mix and wet mix. Turned out well. Added dried cranberries to mine, and mini M&Ms for the kids. I pressed mine into a larger cookie sheet (think they call it a jelly roll pan, actually - 12x17 maybe?). They turned out the perfect size. Mine have great flavor...a little on the sweet side, but yummy. The house was really warm though and they weren't hardening at all, so I put them in the freezer for a bit. It did colored the M&Ms on top, but everything still tastes fine. It is a good base recipe that I'll have fun playing with. I only gave 4 stars because it makes too many to eat all at once, and there is no storage recommendation included. I want to use them for kids' lunches. I looked up other recipes and recommendations. Similar recipes say you can store them at room temp for abt a week & a half in a sealed container or individually wrapped. Right now, mine are individually wrapped in Press'n'Seal. Half in a Baggie will stay out, they other half will go in the freezer. I don't see any reason why they wouldn't freeze well... But I guess I'll find out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShotsyGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This is a great recipe that is quick and simple. I substituted Karo LITE Light Syrup for a savings of 40 calories per 2 tbls. I also added some spices - pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg, and ginger. I cool them in the fridge and then individually package them in wax paper for a grab-and-go snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSagisi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Easy to make and wholesome, too. Most commercial energy bars have way too much sugar. In contrast, these are tasty, but not rot-your-teeth sweet. My daughter loves them. To keep them crunchy, I individually wrapped them in plastic wrap and then stored them in an airtight container. For a not-so-wholesome change, I switched half the peanut butter with Nutella which made for a yummy option. I believe Nutella separates when over heated, so I suggest you heat the corn syrup and 3/8 cup peanut butter first. Take it off the heat before mixing in the Nutella. Both ways are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Also used/added: light corn syrup, honey, Honey Bunches of Oats, cocoa powder, coconut flakes. So good! Toddler loved "helping" me make it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
AmaZING! Easy ingredients to shop for, a pleasure to make, crowd pleaser. I followed a few of the previous comments - using gluten free Rice Krispies, maple syrup and honey over corn syrup and it worked like a charm. Mine didn't look like the photos, but a-ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is so easy and a great non-processed (healthier) treat for my 4 year old ! I was looking for a gluten free recipe for myself while nursing an infant with food allergies. I used dairy free chocolate morsels and mixed in a little honey with a smaller amount of corn syrup. So delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Gor to admit, I was really disappointed. Was looking for something for school lunches, but with all of the peanut butter and almonds and cashew, this definitely isn't it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
So easy! Soon good!! Use whatever substitutions you want...it's all good :) I used cherry flavored dried cranberries and used roasted sunflower seeds instead of almonds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Delicious but be sure to carefully read the ingredients on the crispy rice cereal. "Malt" refers to barley malt and that means it is NOT gluten-free. Kellogs Rice Crispies are NOT gluten free. Rice Chex are. Beware if you are very sensitive or celiac.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States