Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I had been craving brownies since going gluten-free a couple of weeks ago. These are by far the best tasting I have tried, but they are a little sweet. I made these just like the recipe says and used the Bob's Red Mill Gluten-Free All-Purpose Baking Flour. They were great and didn't last the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ringling, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Very easy to make and they were a hit at the Father's Day cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eaglelake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
When I read the part about the mix overflowing I should've taken that as a warning. This was no little dribble like you might expect with pies...this was significant. I'm sure the brownies taste good if more than half the mix doesn't run over the sides. Next time I'll try it with a slightly larger pan...and yes, I did measure everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Eh, these *tasted* okay, but they were soo super dry! I am going to take them and chunk them up, bake them and use them as cookie crumb pie bottoms... I had to drink 2 huge glasses of water to wash these down. Pretty disappointed, since I am putting my kiddo back on the GF diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Turned out very good - held back on the margarine a big and added a little vegetable oil. Very fudgy and didn't last the evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Thank you for this recipe. My hubby is now gluten free but loves brownies and anything chocolate. I tasted the brownies myself and I even like them. Fudgy and not dry, thanks again! ** update= I had to leave town the next day so I was forced to freeze them, best thing is they are better now! Something about freezing them helped take away the little bit of grittiness there was. If you work with gluten free products you know what I mean. So, try freezing them when you have any leftovers so you really can enjoy later. I made a peanut butter frosting to go on top, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This would be a great recipe if the pan size is correct. Make sure you use a 9 x 12 at least. What a mess and heed the warning about the cookie sheet under the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These brownies taste great. I would say they are just as great as my favorite non-gluten-free brownie recipe. They're rich, moist, and sweet. I also added 1/4C vegetable oil, to ensure their moist-ness. Also, like the previous reviewer stated, use a larger sized pan; I used a 8 1/2 x 11 pan and it was perfect / there was no spillage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Very good. We loved the fudgy taste with a pleasant texture not often found in GF baking. Agree that a 9x13 pan is needed. Due to egg/dairy food intolerances in our house, we used a egg substitute and a mix of applesauce/oil/water instead of the margarine. I added enough liquid until it was of similar consistency to a non GF box mix. Thanks for sharing. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Thank you for this G.F. recipe. Of all the baking items a G.F. diet doesn't permit, we miss brownies the most. This is a good recipe. Thank you for the extra advice. The feedback given by contributors is so helpful and helps me select the best recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States