Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and what happened was the the top 1/3 rose significantly and turned out to be rock-solid, while the middle was barely even set and the bottom was about perfect. I ended up peeling off the top 1/3 and throwing it away, baked the rest for another 20-25 minutes and ended up with some good-tasting brownies that looked kind of funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnimalWhiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I don't know what to compare to than "normal" brownies. Made for husband's co-worker who is can't tolerate Gluten. I read reviews, but then modified some: I melted margarine on stove-top on med-high heat, added 1/4 oil and 1/4 water. Added cocoa to pan. Then I mixed with dry ingredients; added eggs then baked in 9x13 cake pan. No spills! Taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Hard as rocks but taste yummy! This batter was way too try. More like chocolate cookie batter. It is definitely missing some liquid. I would make these again as drop cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Had no chocolate chips, so was glad to find this recipe that used cocoa instead. These were super dry! They also baked faster than the time shown on the recipe. Really disappointed with the outcome. Will stick to my usual GF brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Pretty darn tasty! I made these in a bigger pan, as suggested. I also didn't have enough cornstarch, so I used 1/4 cup cornstarch and 1/4 cup arrowroot. I also added a dash of salt and vanilla. And I melted the butter (I'm not a fan of margarine) on the stove with the sugars before mixing it all together, to help with graininess. These brownies are easy to make and have an excellent texture! I will definitely make these next time I have a chocolate craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberger

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
LOVED this recipe. I did change a few things though. I add 1/2 C canola oil as recommended in another review. Also,I didn't have any of the flour mixture, I just used fresh rice flour that I ground. I baked it in a 9x13 pan (it filled it nicely - thanks for the tip!) for 38 min. Once cooled I frosted it with a Betty Crocker Cream Cheese frosting. It was delicious! The texture was great and everyone ate them up! (side note about the texture: I used my Bosch and beat the dry ingredients for 3-4 min on high speed. After adding remaining ingredients I mixed it all for another 3-4 min on high speed. I think this helped get rid of the gritty texture.) The brownies were moist and YUMMY and you couldn't even tell they were Gluten Free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
a friend's daughter is allergic to eggs and butter so i did some substitutions. i did about 4 tbsp banana for eggs and 3/4 c oil for margarine and i used regular white flour. i dont know if my exchanges were significant enough to affect the brownies but it wasnt what i was expecting. they took a long time to bake. they were also a little hard and sunk a ton in the middle but puffed on the sides so you couldnt really cut them out. i cant give it low stars due to my substitutions and the fact that they actually tasted great but the "brownie look" was way off. any advice on substitutions are welcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
a-MAZING!! so good. use the bigger pan...you definitely need it, but these are probably better than any other brownie i've had...and I'm not the one who needs to be gluten free! i made these for my best friend who is, and the 4 of us who enjoyed them said they were by far the yummiest, gooeyest brownies ever. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
my daughter loves brownies and so far I have only made the expensive packaged GF ones for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Yummy! I've made this a couple different ways. Husbands favorite is with Andy's mint chips in the brownies and served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I've also made it with mini semi sweet choc chips in the brownies and a layer of cream cheese filling on top. I baked the brownies for 25-30 mins prior to add the cream cheese layer. Cream cheese recipes is: 2 packages of CC, 1 egg, tsp vanilla, and 1/2 C Sugar. After adding CC layer bake another 25-30 mins until appears set. YUM! My new favorite guten free brownie! **PS: Be sure to bake in a 9X13 pan. The recipes is incorrect!**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States