Gluten Free Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Like others, I was skeptical of the ingredients, especially the addition of mayo. Unfortunately, the binder (xanthan gum) is CRITICALLY important. I was not able to find xanthan gum at the last minute, so we tried another binder, chia seeds. We didn't use enough chia seed, first soaked in water, and like other gluten-free recipes without a binder the consistency will be a problem. So without the xanthan gum, the taste was spot on, the cake was moist, but it didn't hold together well. The guests didn't mind it too much cause it was healthier than other cakes, and we used a cream cheese icing which went really well. Second, pay careful attention to the baking time! We used 30 minutes as a guideline for our first attempt, but with convection ovens the times are shortened, and we could've pulled out the cake at 15-20 minutes with a 9" round pan. Lastly, we used whole mayo, not low-fat with whole ingredients, which we feel helped the moistness of the cake. In any case, we're going to try this again, but next time with actual xanthan gum, and may use more to get more binding. Oh we used trader joe's non-gluten flour, which is Rice based. I'd like to try another non-Wheat flour next time, maybe even oat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I didn't care for this. On the other hand, my kids loved it and others at the party said it wasn't a bad flavor or texture. I was looking for a light moist chocolate cake. What I got was a dense spongey cake that seemed way too wet even though I cooked it for longer than the directions suggested. The flavor was off too but that had to have been my flour blend. The sorghum in it was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Perfect and delicious chocolate cake. I am not a baker but I followed the recipe to the "t" and it came out wonderfully. Denser than a regular cake just like I like it. Definitely a keeper. I used gluten free flour with xanthan gum already added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
OK, it didn't turn out for me. I followed this recipe to the letter, except that I used a 9x13 pan. I baked until toothpick came out clean, but the consistence of the cake was very very gooey. Not even like a very moist cake, almost like a pudding. Maybe I could have baked longer, but like I said, the toothpick came out clean. Hmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I was sceptical that mayo and hot water would work but this is delicious. I paired it with simple chocolate whipped cream frosting and served it for valentines dinner. Very rich! My family didnt even know it was GF. I did try some cake without frosting and have to say the GF flour made the cake taste a little off to me so you definitely want to plan on using frosting. Also make sure your flour doesnt already contain baking soda and xantham gum before you add it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Delicious and moist as others have said. My non-GF family prefers it. Cooking time was 35 minutes. As my GF flour already had xanthan gum, I didn't add that ingredient and it came out fine. New to GF so the mayo and no eggs concerned me but fears were unfounded. Superb recipe without exotic GF ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen A.
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This chocolate cake is some of the best chocolate cake I have ever made/tasted. I made it for my boyfriend's daughter's 8th birthday tonight (my son and I are gluten-free and I wanted us to all be able to share the same cake), and everyone at the table raved about how good the cake was. That is really saying a lot, too, because both my boyfriend and his daughter are incredibly picky eaters. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a delicious, moist chocolate cake that will please everybody at the table, whether they're used to eating gluten-free or not. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Very good. I used bundt pan, so needed to cook it a little longer. Made the night before, kept in fridge then frosted with homemade chocolate butter cream frosting. Has a cake/brownie texture.....Yum will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I was a little concerned when I saw that the color was so light - I expected a darker brown color. BUT, they baked up perfectly! I made cupcakes and they made nice little 'domes' when they baked and they were very moist! So unlike nearly all of the g/f box mixes I've tried. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States