Gluten-Free Cheese and Herb Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This crust is amazing! My 5 year old loved it. I took a taste myself and was very happy with the results. If you are new to gluten free baking, please note that this crust will NOT be anything like the same consistency of a wheat pizza crust. As other reviewers have said, it is very gooey. Don't worry though, because once it is baked, it comes out perfect. You can't roll this out with a roller. You have to use your hand to spread it out into the size and shape you want on the cookie sheet. I took another reviewers advise and put it on parchment paper when I baked them, and they just slid right off when they were done...perfect. I made 5 small crusts for my kiddo. I baked them for 15 minutes, let them cool, then froze the remaining 4 in a gallon bag with parchment paper between them to prevent them from sticking together. You definitely want it to bake for ~ 15 minutes before putting the toppings on. My son is allergic to wheat, dairy, and eggs (among other things) so I had to modify the recipe a bit. I just didn't put any kind of cheese in it and it came out fine. In place of the egg, I used my old standby of 1 Tbsp of flaxmeal to 3 Tbsp of warm water (this needs to thicken for ~15 minutes before using). Another option for the egg is Ener-g egg replacer. This is the first time I have made him pizza crusts and I will continue to do so from now on. No more store bought crusts for him. This recipe is soooo much better. I think any wheat eating person will eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amie
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Fantastic - made 6 personal pizza crusts for my daughter, and they were her favorite gf crusts so far. Like most gf recipes, the dough is thin, so I spread the dough onto parchment paper pretty thin (it is kind of like brownie batter constistency) and then prebaked and froze the crusts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Nice recipe. I am a little bit intimidated by GF recipes as they often have a lot of ingredients that I do not keep on hand and seem complicated to make. This was really pretty easy and turned out really good. I followed the suggestion to use rice flour because it was what I had on hand and it worked well. My husband has recently given up gluten and he loves pizza. We made an extra recipe and froze some of the smaller crusts as well. Another good way to help him stay healthy and not feel like he is missing out too much! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I had competely given up on ever eating yummy pizza again. It's been three years that I've been diagnosed with celiac and I've tried more than one gf pizza dough and never completely happy. This recipe got me & my husband (who is not GF & a very picky eater!) jumping up and down, clapping and singing PIZZA!!!! I'm in heaven...THANK YOU FOR POSTING THIS AMAZING GLUTEN TASTING PIZZA DOUGH!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great! Kids loved it! We loved it! I was skeptical when I saw the texture before baking, but persisted as I remembered the comments from this blog. SO glad I did! We'll probably make pizza weekly now, at the behest of a very happy gluten-intolerant 4 year-old :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I have two celiac in the family craving for a decent pizza forever! I was always intimidated by the idea of making pizza from scratch. This was easy and turned out really well! Kids loved the taste ( so did I). I didn't have rice flour. Skipped it and used 1 cup all purpose GF flour. The texture was a "deep pan" type of pizza. Spread a really layer if you prefer a crunchy pizza. Lessons learned: I used wax paper. It stuck and removing it after the topping was on.... Not pretty. Suggestion: bake 10 min on wax paper, remove, add topping and finish on cookie sheet or directly on rack. Ready to freeze after the 10 min baking. I think it will be perfect as a quick crust for next time. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Best Gluten Free Pizza Dough I have ever eaten or made!! Thanks for this recipe. I did make one change. I omitted the garbanzo flour and increased the gluten free flour, and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachael McNicol
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Just made it for the whole family and they loved it. Well...They ate it without grumbling which is the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael McNicol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Fantastic!! As my husband and I are trying healthier recipes, we were a little sceptical about trying this... it was fantastic!! We don't put the cheese in only because I'm not a fan, and it's still amazing. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Very good pizza! Super easy. After we finished eating my husband admitted he had been very worried about GF pizza, but said he would have never known if I hadn't told him. We both enjoyed very much! Will certainly make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Easier than most gluten-free recipes, and as tasty and crispy as any pizza crust.

Chef John’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

See how to turn cauliflower into tasty, gluten-free pizza crust.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States