Gluten Free Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I was so ready to love this recipe but sadly it just didn't turn out at all for me. It was greasy with butter and too moist. The only changes I made was adding a few spoonfuls of applesauce because I was short 1 banana. I'm a veteran gluten-free baker and I've made several other gluten-free banana bread recipes that have turned out so much better - I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I tried the vegan version of this recipe, and the muffins were completely inedible. Baked much longer than recipe stated, but texture was very dense and still gummy. I think 8 bananas is probably way too many. Very dissappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I made this today and it was amazing. I made a few alterations. I used half almond and have GF oat flour. For the banana's I only had two so I blended in 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and 3 apricots. I have to admit this was the best banana bread I have ever eaten hands down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Good, especially for gluten free but I always sub vegetable oil for the butter as it makes a more moist, soft bread. After the loaves are cooled, wrap in plastic wrap before eating at least overnight to improve flavor and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Horrible. Smooshy uncooked center. I followed the recipe exactly. I used muffin tins and cooked the recipe for 45 minutes longer trying to save the recipe. All of it had to thrown away. Gross, slimy mess in the middle. The tops were nice and crispy, but just under lay the nasty inedible grossness. What a waste of time and bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great GF recipe! Like others, I did make minor adjustments: I used Earth Balance Coconut Spread as a replacement for the butter to make it dairy-free, I also added 1/2 teaspoon of xantham gum, 1 teaspoon of baking soda, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and used 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce in place of the sugar. The texture is wonderful - not crumbly or rubbery as some gluten-free products tend to be. The muffins rose nicely and were moist and very delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It took longer to bake than stated in the recipe. I cut into slices put on a cookie sheet and baked until it toasted. This bread tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1craftymomof4
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I just made these because I had a bunch of bananas that were turning faster then eaten. I can't eat much wheat or flour products it makes me sick afterwards. I used my gluten flour and baked these as muffins, figuring the kids could eat these for breakfast. I added some walnuts in it. Baked for 15-20 minutes. These came out great! My kids tasted them and loved them! I will make these again. Quick easy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stefanie
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Absolutely delicious! So easy. I followed the instructions exactly and just added chocolate chips. I was able to make one loaf & 6 muffins out of just one batch. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I did exactly what the recipe asked for except we have a maple allergy so we used honey instead and it was barely okay in taste and texture. Slightly dry and bland actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States