Gluten Free Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Good ! You can replace the sugar with a bit of honey and also add vanilla extract.Texture is good and you can play around with different types of G/F flour mixtures and still get a tasty result...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This bread was moist, fluffy, flavorful, everything a bread should be. I just used whatever GF flour I had on hand, some all purpose flour, and it was wonderful. I followed directions EXACTLY. I think that's important. I'm going on a trip in a few days, and I'm baking 2 dozen of these to take with and share. This does NOT taste gluten free. It doesn't rise up as much as wheat based muffins, so go ahead and fill the cups pretty full. It took 30 min to cook the muffins, 45-50 min to cook the bread. I sprayed the pan very thoroughly, as GF stuff tends to stick. Again, everything was perfect. The bread did not fall apart, or have a dense texture like most gf breads. Remember what yummy wheat-based muffins were like? Well you will. My next adventure is to try the recipe and replace the bananas with pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Excellent! I skipped the sugar and only used 2 tbsp of maple syrup. I only had 5 bananas. The bread was sweet (but not overly sweet) and moist. My mother couldn't even tell that it was gluten-free and my children both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
The taste and texture were excellent. However, it took 60 minutes to bake through. (I used a bread loaf pan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JacquiB
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was a very good recipe. Missing something, cinnamon perhaps. I used 1 1/2 cups white rice flour and 1/2 cup flax meal and this seemed to work quite well. I also added chocolate chips and made muffins instead of a loaf. The batter made 15 muffins which I baked for 30 min. I would use this recipe again, but tweak it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquiB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Terrific recipe. I did not have 6 ripe bananas (only 4) so I added some fresh, sliced strawberries to the mix. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp clove and nutmeg, and 1 tsp vanilla. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I used White Rice Flour and this was soooo good!!!! :) Took about 1 hour to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Recipe could have used some basic info such as "sift dry ingredients together" (obvious, I know, but still) and how many cups 6 bananas should equal, since bananas vary in size. The bigger problem is that the muffins barely rose and took 45 minutes to cook (brand new oven, worked fine with other recipes), not 15. In addition, they weren't very flavorful. The texture was nice, and I liked that it didn't call for xanthan gum like most other gluten free recipes, so I'll probably try again with some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I have made several gluten-free breads/cakes since going gluten-free January 2013. It takes some research and practice to get the right combination of flours. I used the gf flour recipe that already has xanthan gum in it but not all gf flour mixtures do. Read the label if you buy a pre-made mix. Xanthan gum or guar gum are absolutely necessary in this recipe. When adding the flour to the wet mixture, mix for at least a few minutes with an electric mixer, not just until mixed like the recipe says. That gets the flours/gum to work together better. I used 1/2 cup granulated sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar in place of the turbinado and syrup. Creamed those for several minutes with margarine and 2 tsp vanilla then added eggs and 6 medium very ripe bananas. My muffins were done in 20 minutes and raised pretty well. I got 18 out of this recipe. I am very happy with how they turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Jensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I added some vanilla extract and it tasted great! The only problem I had was I needed to bake it for 60 minutes instead of 30. I wonder if I add less banana next time will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sa5m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States