Gluten Free Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tbrandtaustin
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Followed directions completely except I ended up baking it for 60 minutes. At which point the outside was the perfect shade of brown, so I pulled it out of the oven. After it cooled, I cut a slice only to find lower half of the loaf still mostly unbaked ?? Tasted tested anyways - extremely sweet (explains kid approved). I will be trying again with one less egg, less butter & no sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I used 1 1/4c bobs red mill gluten free flour mix, 3/4c almond/hazelnut flour, I added 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp vanilla, 1tsp cinn, and a dash or two of nutmeg. This made 6 generously sized "mega muffins". I did not use maple syrup, as my bananas were VERY ripe and very sweet. I resisted the temptation to add nuts or choc chips, but I may next time. these rose very well, I cooked for just under 30 min. The tops are a little crusty around the edges, the inside is moist and dense just like banana bread should be. I think next time I will try a different ratio of spices, as it just needs a little "zing", but overall, I am very pleased with the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Gluten free recipes can be tricky, the end result depends on a lot of factors including the type of flour you use. I used Pamela's artisan bread mix for this recipe and thought it came out just ok. I added cinnamon and I think it could probably use a little bit of brown sugar. This tasted almost like regular bread to me, I like my banana bread to be on the sweeter side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Not so sure..its more like a bread pudding. Had to cook loaf for over an hour..is very doughy amd wet. ..needs tweaking in a big way. Not sure if it needs refrigerating?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
took an hour to cook, still was only half cooked inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and it's a total flop. Very doughy. Flavor is good but can not even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Texture turned out perfect. I only had 3 large banana's and put in a hand full of walnuts. Took 45 mins to cook.... yes, it seems sweet to me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Wohllaib

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOOKIE
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I used coconut oil in place of butter and sugar in the raw in place of the T sugar I also used 2 tsp of blue agave in place of maple syrup. I added organic chocolate chips and walnuts. I had to cook this for one hour. I think this was great. My husband loved it! Will be making this for now on. Thank you Christina for sharing a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was so yummy! My first endeavor with gluten free baking was a disaster, but this was excellent! I used regular sugar, added a tsp of cinnamon and some xanthan gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
It just didn't turn out at all for me. It was greasy with butter and too moist. The only changes I made was adding a few spoonfuls of applesauce because I was short 1 banana. I'm a veteran gluten-free baker and I've made several other gluten-free banana bread recipes that have turned out so much better - I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States