Gluten Free Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and it's a total flop. Very doughy. Flavor is good but can not even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Texture turned out perfect. I only had 3 large banana's and put in a hand full of walnuts. Took 45 mins to cook.... yes, it seems sweet to me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Wohllaib

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOOKIE
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I used coconut oil in place of butter and sugar in the raw in place of the T sugar I also used 2 tsp of blue agave in place of maple syrup. I added organic chocolate chips and walnuts. I had to cook this for one hour. I think this was great. My husband loved it! Will be making this for now on. Thank you Christina for sharing a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was so yummy! My first endeavor with gluten free baking was a disaster, but this was excellent! I used regular sugar, added a tsp of cinnamon and some xanthan gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
It just didn't turn out at all for me. It was greasy with butter and too moist. The only changes I made was adding a few spoonfuls of applesauce because I was short 1 banana. I'm a veteran gluten-free baker and I've made several other gluten-free banana bread recipes that have turned out so much better - I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I tried the vegan version of this recipe, and the muffins were completely inedible. Baked much longer than recipe stated, but texture was very dense and still gummy. I think 8 bananas is probably way too many. Very dissappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I made this today and it was amazing. I made a few alterations. I used half almond and have GF oat flour. For the banana's I only had two so I blended in 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and 3 apricots. I have to admit this was the best banana bread I have ever eaten hands down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Good, especially for gluten free but I always sub vegetable oil for the butter as it makes a more moist, soft bread. After the loaves are cooled, wrap in plastic wrap before eating at least overnight to improve flavor and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Horrible. Smooshy uncooked center. I followed the recipe exactly. I used muffin tins and cooked the recipe for 45 minutes longer trying to save the recipe. All of it had to thrown away. Gross, slimy mess in the middle. The tops were nice and crispy, but just under lay the nasty inedible grossness. What a waste of time and bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great GF recipe! Like others, I did make minor adjustments: I used Earth Balance Coconut Spread as a replacement for the butter to make it dairy-free, I also added 1/2 teaspoon of xantham gum, 1 teaspoon of baking soda, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and used 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce in place of the sugar. The texture is wonderful - not crumbly or rubbery as some gluten-free products tend to be. The muffins rose nicely and were moist and very delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States