Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
As someone who lives in Germany, this is the biggest holiday hit you can find! It is available everywhere in towns and the popular christmas markets and this is exactly how to make it. Although, I wouldn't add the water, but instead substitute orange juice to give it more of a zest. Drink it while it's hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Outstanding!!! I made this recipe with two 1.5 L bottles of Merlot/Cabernet Sauvignon. I quadrupled the rest of the ingredients and subsituted orange juice for the water. After simmering the juice mixture I transfered it to the crock pot set on high and added the wine. After it was hot I kept it warm. It happened to be Halloween and 30 degrees outside so I offered "to go" cups to the parents of the trick or treaters! They loved it! This is a fabulous recipe and one that I will make throughout the holidays! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brenibree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This was my contribution to a house party I attended. I used Merlot that I bottle myself and substituted 1/2 the water with Tropicana orange juice. I also removed the simmering oranges from the pot, removed the cloves, sliced the oranges into thick slivers and returned them to the pot. I then transferred everything to a crock pot to keep warm. It was a great hit with the guests and I will certainly make it again, and again. Many thanks for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I normally am not a wine drinker, but I was having guests for Christmas, one of whom is of German ancestry (my brother-in-law), and I wanted to serve something a little differentand special. This was a big hit; even I loved it. The only thing I changed in the recipe was that I substituted orange juice for the water. My brother-in-law commented that it tasted just like his late mother's recipe. Quite a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Excellent. I made this using two tangerines, about 16 cloves, and half a teaspoon of ground cinnamon. The citrus tends to get a bit of pulp into the wine, so strain it before serving if you mind pulp. Also, if you're serving this to people who don't usually drink wine, I recommend using a sweet wine like Shiraz -- I used a (dry) burgundy and even with the sugar, the initial taste was quite tart when the wine was served hot. This keeps well refrigerated -- just warm in the microwave when you want to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
WOWEE! This is good stuff! We had this on Christmas and on New Year's Eve and it was a hit both times. We used merlot and it turned out great. The only thing is that I could never get it to the syrupy stage so we just added the wine after simmering awhile. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharms70

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
Made this recipe between Christmas and New Year 2000 and it went down a treat. I'll definitely be making it again. Advice... drink it whilst it is still warm; when it cools it's just not the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
I made this for New Year's and even friends who don't like wine thought this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I'm not a fan of red wine and so I used blush. I have also used white wine and it has come out great. I also add 1 Tbls lemon juice, 2 sticks of cinnamon and no water. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
Thank you for this recipe. I was in Germany 74-77 and have been looking for this recipe. Again Thank you. And Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States