Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is really good! I did cut back the water and sugar to 1/2 cup each. Everything else the same. Since I am the only one in my family that drinks wine I had to put most of this back in the bottle after it cooled. I thought it tasted better after it sat in the fridge for a couple of days. I like this hot or cold. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was incredible! I left it on low heat for about an hour to keep it warm and it reduced down a bit to a sweet, spicy, rich nectar. So my mistake made it even better! I'm making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Adams Katchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I prefer white wines over reds but decided to try this after tasting a "Christmas Wine" at a local winery. This tasted better than what they served! My husband asked me to make sure that I double the recipe the next time and to please have some when his mom comes over for Christmas dinner! I'll be serving plenty of this... It's gonna be a very Merry Christmas! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2trips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
this is simple and makes brilliant Gluehwein
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Yum! We live in Belgium and have been going to all the Christmas markets here, Germany, and Holland. Our favorite part of the markets is drinking the different Gluehweins. I'm so happy you posted this recipe!! Used orange juice instead of the water and it was wonderful!! Will become a winter staple in our house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
very good...can't wait for real cold weather and make this and drink it while walking down the streets with nicely lit christmas docoration...get a bit of European atmoshere if drinking in the freezing cold in a christmas atmosphere...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Yummmmmy!!! I added a little apple cider.....unbelievably delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhittheCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
No need to buy mulling spices with this recipe (seriously, I picked up some mulling spices at the store and realized that the ingredients on the package were the same as the ingredients for this recipe). This was soooo good! The only thing I changed was the amount of sugar, I used 1/2 a cup instead of 3/4. I also tried this with apple cider and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Fantastic! I used orange juice in place of water and reduced the sugar to about a 1/2 cup. I used 4 cinnamon sticks and even added a few dashes of ground cinnamon toward the end. Often, I like to add a few splashes of brandy. It makes it a bit more potent, which is especially nice if your wine got a little too warm and some alcohol evaporated. I've already made this so many times, I had to make sure I put my review in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was a big hit! Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States