Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Very tasty! A little sweet for me the first time I tried it, so cut the sugar and water back to 1/2 cup each, and it suited my taste much more. Thanks to Else for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This recipe was good with the orange juice instead of water, however the orange flavor was a bit over powering I recommend making a balance between water and orange juice to suit your taste. Still in general it was a great recipe, defiantly worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Delicious! Like other reviewers I used orange juice instead of water. I put the cloves into a tea ball to steep instead of shoving them into the orange skin (it was too tough and I broke a few cloves trying).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I love this stuff!!! I've made this exactly as written for years and wouldn't change a thing. This is the best time of year to enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This a our new fall/winter staple!! I, too, used orange juice in lieu of water, cut back the sugar a bit and used a Shiraz. My boyfriend doesn't like wine at all, but absolutely loved this. What a great find. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Sooooo good with a few changes. Instead of boiling the water with sugar, I boiled store bought orange juice. I did not push the cloves into an orange peel, I just threw them in at the same time as the cinnamon stick. After 30 minutes I added the wine and then I added more sugar, orange juice and water to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Everyone loved this recipe at our Thanksgiving dinner. Delicious, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
We love this! I am an Airforce wife currently living in Germany. And let me tell you, this is WAY better than the stuff they serve at the German Christmas markets. I made it for our Christmas party, but I used orange juice instead of water as the other reviewers suggested. I couldn't believe how easy it was to make either. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. This will be a tradition in our home every winter...Thank You ELSE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was a hit, although it was too sweet for me. But people came back for thirds! The smell was awesome too. I did NOT do the OJ, but rather followed the recipe and moved everything to a crock pot. If you have a crowd, I recommend doubling this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
As many others have previously said, I too have fond memories of drinking Glühwein at many a Christkindlesmarkt when I was stationed in Germany. I recall being so surprised that I liked it because I typically drink Spätlese and find red wines such as Merlot too bitter. I made this with Shiraz, as a few reviewers suggested, to keep things on the sweeter side. I also used orange juice in place of water as many reviewers suggested. I think using a cinnamon stick and whole cloves are genius as ground versions would overwhelm it. I have tried many other Glühwein recipes and been sorely disappointed, however, this tastes just like the Glühwein I remember. Thank you, Else for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States