Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Orange juice instead of water and this is PERFECT. I am told by every German I know that this is the original recipe. Oh so good!!! Also yummy if Cherry juice is substituted for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Always a party favorite, especially when it's cold outside. I also substitute water with orange juice, add green apple and orange slices and a little berry rum which adds a real flavor kick. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
What a nice blend of flavors! I ended up having to use ground cloves rather than whole ones and I felt that their flavor was far too strong...next time I will be sure to use whole cloves as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Almost exactly like what you can buy on the streets in central Europe. I used OJ and just a very cheap merlot--turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Not very good. I made it for Christmas Eve, and I thought it tasted bad. Noone went back for seconds. I made it exactly to the recipe, but I did use cheap Merlot, maybe try to use a good, sweet red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy4876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is one of my favorite things to make for friends and family during the holidays! It is sooo yummy and spicy and sweet, it warms you to the bone. I use orange juice instead of water for added flavor. For parties, I get a cheap cask of red wine and quadruple the recipe. It never lasts long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I made this for friends who were on a float in our town's Christmas Parade. I used brown sugar instead of white, and poured it into several insulated mugs with lids. Everyone wanted the recipe, and it helped them warm up after a night on a float. (I suspect it helped us all *float* home, too!) The only other change was that after the sugar/water/orange peel mixture boiled, I turned the stove off and let it sit while I did an errand. When I returned, the mixture had thickened. Since I used a small saucepan, I heated half of the wine in the microwave then added everything into a large thermos. My husband said he could smell it when the thermos was opened! Oh, since there was already orange juice in it, I also added about 1/2 cup of orange liquer for an extra shot of cheer. Will definitely serve again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
As good as everyone says! I always strain this thoroughly before serving it. Careful...you could drink a lot of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Oh my word. Utterly fantastic. I made this for my husband and he was just as impressed, the smell in our house was great and the deep rich warming effect. Lovely!! Many thanks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States