Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
As the recipe stands, I give it 4 stars because I think it's too sweet. But that can be easily rectified by making the sugar syrup as in step 1, setting half of it aside, then continue with the recipe as written. When finished, add more of the reserved sugar syrup (or not) to taste. Forget Christmas, this is wonderful all year long! Oh, and to give this a Swedish twist, serve with raisins and/or slivered almonds in the mug. Absolutely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Each time I visit Germany, I try to make sure it's at a time when I can hit a Weinachtsmarkt and drink glühwein. This is an excellent recipe! I didn't use sugar, but rather six packets of Splenda. I realized this was about 2/3 the sweetness that I would have gotten using the amount of sugar in the recipe, but I figured I could add more later, if need be. (6 packets were just right.) I did strain the glühwein before serving and then just put it back in the pot and set it on the kosher setting on the stove. After all, I didn't want the alcohol to cook off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I am German and have had lots of Gluehwein in my life, funny enough I never made it myself, since you can simply buy it anywhere in Germany. Since I've been in the US for many years, I looked for a recipe and I really enjoy this home made Gluehwein, it tastes great and authentic and I like that I can vary the ingredients if I want to, such as adding more orange joice, or adding spiced rum. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, it brings a piece of home to me :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Just came back from Germany and the Christmas markets and we were craving some Gluewien. I also used orange juice instead of the water and added 2 more cinnamon sticks. It was exactly like the Gluewein in Germany this way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Excellent winter drink! Like others I used more OJ than the one orange, but otherwise made as directed. Our au pair from Austria says this is just like what they drink at home. Will be a holiday favorite at our house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I doubled this recipe using half orange juice and half water. I made this with a cabernet from Sam's. It was a hit! Just like I used to drink in Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
The recipe, as is, is a bit too sweet for me. I had to add another half bottle of very dry red wine to get it to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
A great, tasty treat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Too delicious! I'm not even a wine drinker but this has changed me into one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States