Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Great old time German recipe. Try other juices also for a change. (O.J., cherry juice, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I lived in Germany for a long time and this recipe tastes perfectly authentic. Great for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This was so good! I took the advice of others and used orange juice instead of the water. It was a great drink for Christmas Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
It's great, but I tried following one of the other reviews, and changed the water for OJ, and it made it much too sweet. It's perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This was great! Everyone at our party loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I had the pleasure of going to Germany several years ago, and this brought back some wonderful memories of that trip. This recipe is absolutely fantastic! My Husband is a diabetic, so I replaced the sugar with "Splenda Granular" and the recipe turned out great! Thanks for sharing your recipe Else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I served this at a dinner party during the holidays and it was very well received. This is not a sophisticated drink - it's a good, flavorful somewhat sweet spiced wine that can be successfully made with an inexpensive bottle of red wine. I cut down on the sugar and used orange juice in place of the water. It was kind of like a winter-time Sangria. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This Gluehwein recipe was great, and so easy to make. My aunt from Germany makes this every year for the holidays, and this was my first time trying it for myself. It still wasn't quite as good as Aunt Helga's, but still very tasty and I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I have never heard of gluehwein but was looking for a festive spiced wine something for Christmas. My mother-in-law loved it, sister-in-law hated it and I thought it was pretty good though not what I was looking for. I followed the advice of others and used orange juice which made it too bitter for me - for me the water would have been the better choice. I enjoyed the spicy taste and thought it was more like a dessert wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
this is my new favorite christmas tradition! not a drop survived!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpotpirate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States