Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
very good. i have a thermos pitcher and it stayed nice and hot in there. brought to a halloween party and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyMummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I have been making the recipe since it first made it's appearance on this sight years ago. I make a double-batch, exactly as written, and it is always a hit. There is nothing like the way it makes your house smell. I am hosting Thanksgiving at my house and my guests have already checked to make sure we will have plenty of this around for those cold Michigan nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My husband made this exactly as stated. We used a cheap red table wine. It was delicious & tasted like what we've had in Europe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JusCookAlready

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This recipe is now a Christmas/any chilly day favourite. Followed recipe as is and it turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Well, if we had followed the recipe exactly maybe it would have been better. It was way too sweet for our taste. We used orange juice instead of water, as suggested by many people. If you are a wine drinker, especially a dry red wine drinker, don't use orange juice. It makes it too sweet! I will still be looking for another good mulled wine recipe. The search continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Found this recipe after trying Gluehwein at the Chicago Chriskindlmarkt. Tastes just the same, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is an amazing recipe. It tastes just like what I drank while living in Germany. I made it for a bunch of friends for Thanksgiving and everyone really loved it. I kept getting compliments. That said, I used 2 bottles of cabernet sauvignon by Yellow Tail. I then doubled everything else but may have added a bit more sugar since I didn't measure exactly. The only thing I changed was I used mulling spices that I picked up from the store. I just put those in a large tea ball and let them steep. I also combined all the ingredients at once because I wanted a good portion of the alcohol to burn off. Everyone I know loves this and I give out the recipe pretty much every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellymayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Everyone loved this recipe at a party that we hosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Thank you for this recipe. We put in less sugar, some rum - wunderbar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States