Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My husband made this exactly as stated. We used a cheap red table wine. It was delicious & tasted like what we've had in Europe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JusCookAlready

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This recipe is now a Christmas/any chilly day favourite. Followed recipe as is and it turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Well, if we had followed the recipe exactly maybe it would have been better. It was way too sweet for our taste. We used orange juice instead of water, as suggested by many people. If you are a wine drinker, especially a dry red wine drinker, don't use orange juice. It makes it too sweet! I will still be looking for another good mulled wine recipe. The search continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Found this recipe after trying Gluehwein at the Chicago Chriskindlmarkt. Tastes just the same, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is an amazing recipe. It tastes just like what I drank while living in Germany. I made it for a bunch of friends for Thanksgiving and everyone really loved it. I kept getting compliments. That said, I used 2 bottles of cabernet sauvignon by Yellow Tail. I then doubled everything else but may have added a bit more sugar since I didn't measure exactly. The only thing I changed was I used mulling spices that I picked up from the store. I just put those in a large tea ball and let them steep. I also combined all the ingredients at once because I wanted a good portion of the alcohol to burn off. Everyone I know loves this and I give out the recipe pretty much every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellymayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Everyone loved this recipe at a party that we hosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Thank you for this recipe. We put in less sugar, some rum - wunderbar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was great - only a couple things I did different - substitute water w/ OJ, 1/2 cup sugar instead of 3/4, and 2 cinnamon sticks instead of 1. What made it great was how incredibly easy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I can understand why a lot of people would enjoy this-- for me, though, it was just too sweet, even after DOUBLING the amount of wine. BUT-- it was easy to make! And I found that allspice was a suitable substitute for the cloves, which I didn't have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States