Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Very tasty! A little sweet for me the first time I tried it, so cut the sugar and water back to 1/2 cup each, and it suited my taste much more. Thanks to Else for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This recipe was good with the orange juice instead of water, however the orange flavor was a bit over powering I recommend making a balance between water and orange juice to suit your taste. Still in general it was a great recipe, defiantly worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Delicious! Like other reviewers I used orange juice instead of water. I put the cloves into a tea ball to steep instead of shoving them into the orange skin (it was too tough and I broke a few cloves trying).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I love this stuff!!! I've made this exactly as written for years and wouldn't change a thing. This is the best time of year to enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This a our new fall/winter staple!! I, too, used orange juice in lieu of water, cut back the sugar a bit and used a Shiraz. My boyfriend doesn't like wine at all, but absolutely loved this. What a great find. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Sooooo good with a few changes. Instead of boiling the water with sugar, I boiled store bought orange juice. I did not push the cloves into an orange peel, I just threw them in at the same time as the cinnamon stick. After 30 minutes I added the wine and then I added more sugar, orange juice and water to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Everyone loved this recipe at our Thanksgiving dinner. Delicious, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
We love this! I am an Airforce wife currently living in Germany. And let me tell you, this is WAY better than the stuff they serve at the German Christmas markets. I made it for our Christmas party, but I used orange juice instead of water as the other reviewers suggested. I couldn't believe how easy it was to make either. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. This will be a tradition in our home every winter...Thank You ELSE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was a hit, although it was too sweet for me. But people came back for thirds! The smell was awesome too. I did NOT do the OJ, but rather followed the recipe and moved everything to a crock pot. If you have a crowd, I recommend doubling this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
As many others have previously said, I too have fond memories of drinking Glühwein at many a Christkindlesmarkt when I was stationed in Germany. I recall being so surprised that I liked it because I typically drink Spätlese and find red wines such as Merlot too bitter. I made this with Shiraz, as a few reviewers suggested, to keep things on the sweeter side. I also used orange juice in place of water as many reviewers suggested. I think using a cinnamon stick and whole cloves are genius as ground versions would overwhelm it. I have tried many other Glühwein recipes and been sorely disappointed, however, this tastes just like the Glühwein I remember. Thank you, Else for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States