Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Perfect! Would not change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is so good! We will be making more of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I make this every year. I lived for 2 years in Germany and loved the Kristkindlemarkt gluehwein. The smell filling the house is WONDERFUL, and brings back memories of walking around the market with the sounds of the traditional oom-pah-pah band in the background. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefVanD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Wonderful spiced wine! Very simple not a lot of expensive ingredients. I followed the recipe until the end when I added 2 more cinnamon sticks while heating the wine. Nice, spicy, and warming. I'm thinking about adding some black peppercorn next time to see if I can get a spiced wine with a kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I really liked this spiced wine - I think next time I will put a little less sugar in it (I think 1/2 cup would be fine). I'll definitely make it again - my friends and I enjoyed it today after our wreath making session - it's very festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
My husband and father-in-law are born and bred in Germany. They said it tasted just like Gluehwein should! Yummy and makes the house smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This makes the best gluehwein! I've served it numerous times now, and I think it does taste better with the orange juice instead of the water, and reducing the sugar somewhat. I've also transferred it to my crockpot to keep warm, and used it while sitting around the firepit. Fabulous! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Absolutely fabulous. Compares with the ready made imports we get at Christmas time, only the orange gives it a fresher taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Hi from Turkey. This recipe is the best I tried so far, all family loved it so much. I added 2 orange, 1 I squezed in 2nd I added in slices and instead of removing I left all ingrediants in it. Even 6 days later the taste was amazing. Have a great Gluehwein. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Cheap wine is the best!!! Seriously! My husband and I fell in LOVE with this drink while on vacation in Bavaria, Germany. We made this drink with an expensive bottle of Merlot, then did a second batch with a cheaper brand (Barefoot Merlot...$5.99 a bottle). The cheaper brand DEFINITELY had the RIGHT taste and smell! Reminded us of being at the Christmas Market at Marienplatz in Munich -after the following changes. The things I did different was scale back the sugar to 1/2 cup and used orange juice instead of water (and still used the whole orange) per bottle. Done this way...it's like you're getting the drink straight from Germany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States