Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Each time I visit Germany, I try to make sure it's at a time when I can hit a Weinachtsmarkt and drink glühwein. This is an excellent recipe! I didn't use sugar, but rather six packets of Splenda. I realized this was about 2/3 the sweetness that I would have gotten using the amount of sugar in the recipe, but I figured I could add more later, if need be. (6 packets were just right.) I did strain the glühwein before serving and then just put it back in the pot and set it on the kosher setting on the stove. After all, I didn't want the alcohol to cook off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I am German and have had lots of Gluehwein in my life, funny enough I never made it myself, since you can simply buy it anywhere in Germany. Since I've been in the US for many years, I looked for a recipe and I really enjoy this home made Gluehwein, it tastes great and authentic and I like that I can vary the ingredients if I want to, such as adding more orange joice, or adding spiced rum. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, it brings a piece of home to me :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Just came back from Germany and the Christmas markets and we were craving some Gluewien. I also used orange juice instead of the water and added 2 more cinnamon sticks. It was exactly like the Gluewein in Germany this way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Excellent winter drink! Like others I used more OJ than the one orange, but otherwise made as directed. Our au pair from Austria says this is just like what they drink at home. Will be a holiday favorite at our house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Reesman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I doubled this recipe using half orange juice and half water. I made this with a cabernet from Sam's. It was a hit! Just like I used to drink in Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
The recipe, as is, is a bit too sweet for me. I had to add another half bottle of very dry red wine to get it to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
A great, tasty treat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Too delicious! I'm not even a wine drinker but this has changed me into one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Perfect! Would not change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States