Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
this is my new favorite christmas tradition! not a drop survived!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpotpirate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I wanted something different this Christmas, so I gave this a try. I really enjoyed it. I used orange juice as others suggested, and was worried about it being too sweet, but it was lovely. I used an inexspensive French wine and sipped it while preparing Christmas dinner. Sehr gut! Danke, Else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I used up a couple of bottles of partly finished reds(one Italian, one French) for this recipe. I used half brown/white sugar and orange juice as recommended by other reviewers. The kitchen smelt wonderful and everyone enjoyed it. I will be making this again for New Years to keep us warm whilst watching fireworks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I made it last night for a Gluehwien Party and it was gone in the first hour and I tripled the recipe!! Good Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: Malibu, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I made this for a Christmas party last weekend. I quadrupled the recipe and all if it was gone by the end. The only change I made was cutting the water in half and adding OJ for the other half. A very good German friend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My boyfriend is from a tiny village near Wasserberg in Bavaria. He was missing Gluehwein so I made this recipe for him and his boss, who is from Regensberg. They say that this recipe is actually what they call "Punsch", and that Gluehwein is heated wine too but a bit different. I dunno, maybe this is known as Gluehwein in other regions of Germany. Still, we enjoyed this recipe very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This is fantastic!! I also substituted oj for water. I had this at our annual cocktail party and I didn't want to share! Many people wanted the recipe. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
The only reason I rated this a five is that there was no higher rating. I made it using burgundy wine and followed the suggestion of others and substituted the water with orange juice. Everyone loved it. I will definitely be making this often in the future. Thanks, Else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I'm rating this from a POV of someone who hasn't had Gluehwein before but was looking for a good mulled wine for a holiday party. Overall it was good but the general concensus was that it was too sweet, so we added another half bottle of merlot. I would probably make it again with the initial 1 and a half bottles of merlot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatsupcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cornpop
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This could be great. Unless you're a sugar addict, I'd cut the sugar down to 1/2c. Following some suggestions I used low sugar oj and still found this too sweet. For this I used Barefoot Merlot for the wine. Great start though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornpop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States