Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This wasn't as good as I was hoping. I didn't really taste any of the spices, and I added extra. It was just warm wine for the most part. Took it to a Christmas Eve party and not many people drank it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sheldon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was great for a holiday party that I went to. I used OJ instead of water, and it gave it more of a warm sangria taste. Very good! I used merlot. This was easy and fast. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I lived in Germany for several years and have missed gluehwein tremendously. I found this recipe this year and tried it using the recommended orange juice instead of water and a merlot for the wine. Amazing! Just as strong and fume-y as I remembered it (you'll see)! :) I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Radford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Will be making this regularly during the holidays. Double this for sure - if you are having company. Kick it up with a shot of brandy when serving. Puts it over the top! I used an inexpensive red wine (zin) and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I'd never heard of this, let alone had it before. I'm not a big fan of red wines, so I thought this was just okay. I drank the whole batch in two days, while it was snowing outside. Certainly, this is much better served hot; if you don't drink it quickly enough and it gets cold, it doesn't taste nearly as good. I made this exactly as written. However, the sugar/water mixture didn't get "thick and syrupy" within 30 minutes; maybe it's my elevation (6200 feet), or maybe I didn't have my "simmer" set high enough. I hope that wasn't a crucial part of the recipe. I also didn't get all the juice out of the orange halves (squeezed by hand), but they were pretty large, so I got a lot of juice anyway. But thanks for an introduction to this kind of drink; perhaps I'll find one that will "wow" me someday. Oh, and the wine I used was a 2006 California Shiraz (by Charles Shaw).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This is a bit sweet for me, but the spices are really great. I used a Zinfandel. Next time I may use something a little drier, just to offset the sweetness a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
WUNDERBAR! We loved this recipe. I did cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup, added an extra cinnamon stick, the juice of 1 lemon, and then strained the whole thing before serving. Made it with a simple Burgandy wine...I bet a Pinot Noir or Beaujolias would be good too. It was even better the second day after the flavors had blended more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Warms you to the bone! Very tasty. Doubled the recipe, but followed it exactly and it was a bit hit last Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
PERFECT gluehwein/mulled wine recipe! Exactly the right amount of sugar and spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I made this many time already. I add more slices of oranges and lemons. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States