Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Fabulous recipe! I thought doubling the recipe to use two bottles of wine would be more than enough for my small Christmas party, but it went over so well I ended up making another "double batch." Merlot worked well, and as recommended, I kept it warm in the crock pot. I may try reducing the sugar next time as it is definitely very sweet, but in no way over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This wasn't as good as I was hoping. I didn't really taste any of the spices, and I added extra. It was just warm wine for the most part. Took it to a Christmas Eve party and not many people drank it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sheldon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was great for a holiday party that I went to. I used OJ instead of water, and it gave it more of a warm sangria taste. Very good! I used merlot. This was easy and fast. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I lived in Germany for several years and have missed gluehwein tremendously. I found this recipe this year and tried it using the recommended orange juice instead of water and a merlot for the wine. Amazing! Just as strong and fume-y as I remembered it (you'll see)! :) I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Radford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Will be making this regularly during the holidays. Double this for sure - if you are having company. Kick it up with a shot of brandy when serving. Puts it over the top! I used an inexpensive red wine (zin) and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I'd never heard of this, let alone had it before. I'm not a big fan of red wines, so I thought this was just okay. I drank the whole batch in two days, while it was snowing outside. Certainly, this is much better served hot; if you don't drink it quickly enough and it gets cold, it doesn't taste nearly as good. I made this exactly as written. However, the sugar/water mixture didn't get "thick and syrupy" within 30 minutes; maybe it's my elevation (6200 feet), or maybe I didn't have my "simmer" set high enough. I hope that wasn't a crucial part of the recipe. I also didn't get all the juice out of the orange halves (squeezed by hand), but they were pretty large, so I got a lot of juice anyway. But thanks for an introduction to this kind of drink; perhaps I'll find one that will "wow" me someday. Oh, and the wine I used was a 2006 California Shiraz (by Charles Shaw).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This is a bit sweet for me, but the spices are really great. I used a Zinfandel. Next time I may use something a little drier, just to offset the sweetness a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
WUNDERBAR! We loved this recipe. I did cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup, added an extra cinnamon stick, the juice of 1 lemon, and then strained the whole thing before serving. Made it with a simple Burgandy wine...I bet a Pinot Noir or Beaujolias would be good too. It was even better the second day after the flavors had blended more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Warms you to the bone! Very tasty. Doubled the recipe, but followed it exactly and it was a bit hit last Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
PERFECT gluehwein/mulled wine recipe! Exactly the right amount of sugar and spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States