Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Delicious! The only thing I would change next time is to cut the sugar down to half the amount. I used OJ as other reviewers suggested, for extra flavour. Looks pretty too in the Irish Coffee glasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Quite tasty. Try to pierce the orange with the cloves before you cut the orange. It is quite difficult to pierce the orange skins after the orange has been juiced. Do not worry if you are unable to pierce the orange skin with the cloves; just place the cloves and the orange flesh/peel in the sugar water. I strained the beverage as I poured it into the mugs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I used a big bottle of Cab/Merlot and used OJ instead of water like others suggested. I also cut back on the sugar. This was delicious and a big hit at my party. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I love Gluehwein my husband lived in germany for the last three years and it is truly a favorite when you go to the christmas markets i'm pregnant this christmas so none for me till next year. An it is a quick way to make you warm happy quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I am an American living in Holland and I make this recipe every year during the holidays. I also add a splash of cherry liqueur (Kirsch) and place pitted cherries (NOT maraschino) in the bottom of the mug before serving. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
very good. i have a thermos pitcher and it stayed nice and hot in there. brought to a halloween party and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyMummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I have been making the recipe since it first made it's appearance on this sight years ago. I make a double-batch, exactly as written, and it is always a hit. There is nothing like the way it makes your house smell. I am hosting Thanksgiving at my house and my guests have already checked to make sure we will have plenty of this around for those cold Michigan nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My husband made this exactly as stated. We used a cheap red table wine. It was delicious & tasted like what we've had in Europe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JusCookAlready

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This recipe is now a Christmas/any chilly day favourite. Followed recipe as is and it turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States