Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I even impressed my German friends. I used OJ instead of water and used a ton of cloves. Because of being crunched for time I made the 'sauce' several days before my christmas party, leaving in the orange, cloves and cinnamon. Reheated, strained the debris and served ... AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanGogh0526

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Delicious! The only thing I would change next time is to cut the sugar down to half the amount. I used OJ as other reviewers suggested, for extra flavour. Looks pretty too in the Irish Coffee glasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Quite tasty. Try to pierce the orange with the cloves before you cut the orange. It is quite difficult to pierce the orange skins after the orange has been juiced. Do not worry if you are unable to pierce the orange skin with the cloves; just place the cloves and the orange flesh/peel in the sugar water. I strained the beverage as I poured it into the mugs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I used a big bottle of Cab/Merlot and used OJ instead of water like others suggested. I also cut back on the sugar. This was delicious and a big hit at my party. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I love Gluehwein my husband lived in germany for the last three years and it is truly a favorite when you go to the christmas markets i'm pregnant this christmas so none for me till next year. An it is a quick way to make you warm happy quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I am an American living in Holland and I make this recipe every year during the holidays. I also add a splash of cherry liqueur (Kirsch) and place pitted cherries (NOT maraschino) in the bottom of the mug before serving. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
very good. i have a thermos pitcher and it stayed nice and hot in there. brought to a halloween party and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyMummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I have been making the recipe since it first made it's appearance on this sight years ago. I make a double-batch, exactly as written, and it is always a hit. There is nothing like the way it makes your house smell. I am hosting Thanksgiving at my house and my guests have already checked to make sure we will have plenty of this around for those cold Michigan nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My husband made this exactly as stated. We used a cheap red table wine. It was delicious & tasted like what we've had in Europe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JusCookAlready

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States