Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 6, 2004
I will never buy bottled Gluehwein again (it's so hard to find anyway)! Just the smell of this takes me back to Munich’s Christmas Market (Christkindlmarkt) that I visited as a child. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This recipe was excellent. I used local plum wine for the red wine, which made the drink wonderfully sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosanna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This is a wonderful drink by the fire when you have spent the day out in the cool, brisk air looking for that Christmas tree:~) It is one of my fondest memories of Germany....sipping on a warm cup, trekking through the Christkindle Markt taking in the sights and smells of Munchen! If you can get the wine "Bulls Blood" in your area, (I believe it is a Hungarian red wine) it absolutely will make the best gluehwein! When I make my Gluehwein, I slice the orange and place the cloves within the orange. Everyone has there own way of making it though, that is just my preference. Try this, you will LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I was in Frankfurt, Germany last year for their Christmas Market. All you can smell is Gluehwein, there is a vendor every few feet. It was the best thing I had ever tasted! This recipe is extactly like I remember it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Excellent. I made this using two tangerines, about 16 cloves, and half a teaspoon of ground cinnamon. The citrus tends to get a bit of pulp into the wine, so strain it before serving if you mind pulp. Also, if you're serving this to people who don't usually drink wine, I recommend using a sweet wine like Shiraz -- I used a (dry) burgundy and even with the sugar, the initial taste was quite tart when the wine was served hot. This keeps well refrigerated -- just warm in the microwave when you want to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Outstanding!!! I made this recipe with two 1.5 L bottles of Merlot/Cabernet Sauvignon. I quadrupled the rest of the ingredients and subsituted orange juice for the water. After simmering the juice mixture I transfered it to the crock pot set on high and added the wine. After it was hot I kept it warm. It happened to be Halloween and 30 degrees outside so I offered "to go" cups to the parents of the trick or treaters! They loved it! This is a fabulous recipe and one that I will make throughout the holidays! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Mills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
I made this for New Year's and even friends who don't like wine thought this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This was my contribution to a house party I attended. I used Merlot that I bottle myself and substituted 1/2 the water with Tropicana orange juice. I also removed the simmering oranges from the pot, removed the cloves, sliced the oranges into thick slivers and returned them to the pot. I then transferred everything to a crock pot to keep warm. It was a great hit with the guests and I will certainly make it again, and again. Many thanks for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I normally am not a wine drinker, but I was having guests for Christmas, one of whom is of German ancestry (my brother-in-law), and I wanted to serve something a little differentand special. This was a big hit; even I loved it. The only thing I changed in the recipe was that I substituted orange juice for the water. My brother-in-law commented that it tasted just like his late mother's recipe. Quite a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Very tasty and the wine is quite a bit stronger than you might expect! My family loved it on a cold December night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States