Glossy Royal Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Yuck! Sure the icing is glossy and hardens nice but what does it taste like? Yuck. I had to dump the whole batch of cookies. The icing tasted like soap with the almond extract. It was way too overpowering and I followed the recipe exactly only adding more powered sugar to thicken it. Grose! Won't do that again. Back to the tried and true Royal Icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TerMel
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
After trying two batches of the glaze that was suggested for the sugar cookies I made and have them both bomb, I'm so glad I found this recipe and tried it. It was perfect! Easy to make, easy to dip my camel shaped cookies into and get the icing where I wanted, and are now beginning to harden just like I wanted!! Next time I'll try a different extract, but didn't want to deviate from the original recipe on my first go. I live in the middle east and we are having U.S. military personnel over for Thanksgiving, these camel cookies are to go in the 'to-go' treat bags when they leave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
As someone else pointed out, this is more of a glaze than royal icing. It tastes delicious but even with added confectioner's sugar it was too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This recipe is great!! Works like a charm every time. Fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Worked beautifully and stayed glossy like stated. It took gel coloring well also. I put it into a squeeze bottle and let my kids go to town making free form stars to decorate our Dallas Cowboy cupcakes! I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I have been on the hunt for the perfect Royal Icing recipe and this is my winner!! It may not be a technical "royal" icing but it is the best I have ever used! All of the royal icing recipes I have tried either don't taste very good or they are hard- rock hard! Everyone said the cookies tasted as good as they looked! I had to add about 4 tbsp more water then this recipe called for but just add what you need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darlean May
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is the perfect frosting/glaze for sugar cookies! And tastes so much better than royal icing but dries just like royal icing! So thank you for such a super easy great tasting glaze/frosting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlean May
Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chellsw
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe is fantastic, I used it on shaped sugar cookies for an office party and everybody loved them! Several people asked for the recipe. Super easy to make, tastes great and saves and reuses great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Awesome! I love that it has no eggs in it and it hardens very nicely and tastes pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly, highly recommend! It dries to the touch rather quickly, so handling them is easier. Made valentine cookies with my 2 sons and they had a blast. This will be my go-to sugar cookie icing recipe. (I'm not sure it will hold gingerbread houses together, but perfect for sugar cookies.) big success! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States