Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by April
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I have the exact recipe in a favorite Italian cook book of mine! It's excellent and can be adapted in many ways. My favorite is to eliminate the lemon zest and lemon extract in exchange for 1/2 tsp. almond extract. While the cake is baking, I make a simple syrup and add sliced berries (strawberries usually) the juice of an orange and enough cold water/corn starch to thicken. Once the berries break down, I serve this sauce over my cake. For those of you in question whether or not you grease the pan and claim to be expert cooks: shame on those of you who question this! *LOL* No sponge cake or angel food cake should ever be baked in a greased pan; it won't rise like it should otherwise! Invert your pan over a bottle, allow the cake to completely cool, then run a sharp knife around the edges and the middle part of the pan, then gently stick a finger down the side of the cake and loosen the bottom, working gently and carefully. Excellent cake, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Jones
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Great recipe! This recipe was easy to follow and turned out great. I would definitely say using a handmixer (on the highest level) to get the whites to a stiff texture is a must! I kept the lemon extract and did not use a substitute and the cake came out perfect. In fact, to get a heavier lemon flavor, you could even use a tiny bit more. As it was, the cake turned out the perfect consistency, light, flavorful, and visually appealing. I'd use this recipe for a shortcake instead of an angel food cake any day. I also doubled this recipe because I was using a 9x13 rectangle pan. However, it was a little more than I needed so I made a spill-over loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This recipe is great! Good flavor and taste with 1 T extra lemon juice. I TRIED to substitute Splenda Baking Sugar for the regular sugar and it did not really work. Totally my fault! Not an error with the Recipe. Thanks for submitting the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Excellent recipe, finished product has perfect texture and tastes great. I found that this recipe is not very forgiving and recommend that it be carefully followed. Although, lemon flavoring might be too strong. I prefer it with two tablespoons lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Very light and fluffy - be careful it feels like you can't get full on it. I followed some of the other reviewer's advice and added 2 Tbsps of lemon juice instead of lemon extract and took away a bit of the water to make up for the extra juice. I took it out earlier than an hour - check 45 minutes after you put the cake in the oven. I also didn't preheat the oven - in case anyone was wondering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This cake worked out great. I was using it for a base in tiramisu, so instead of lemon, I used 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I also used whole wheat flour (instead of cake flour) as someone suggested, by grinding it in the coffee grinder. The tiramisu was great! Anyway, we had some leftover plain sponge cake for dessert tonight. I figured out that it tastes just like a twinkie! Weird. Anyway, bake time was only about 43 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Excellent. My great aunt used to make a similar cake, but I never had the opportunity to ask her for the recipe. I used all purpose flour with 1 tbsp of baking soda, 2 capfuls of lemon juice and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Baked at 375 for 45 min. It was a little hard to remove from the pan, but eventually relented. The crust was thick and chewy and the center moist. Great! I made sure to let the cake rest for 30 min after removing it from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliot Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Oh my God, the sponge was wonderful. I think i will be making it for all my children's birthdays. It was so soft and fluffy, anybody who wants to have a go at this cake should definitely bake this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlea, Harare, Zimbabwe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This is a great recipe! A friend asked for "something lemony" for his birthday, so I used this recipe and made it into a roulade (jelly roll), and then used Carol's "Lemon Filling" inside it. Everyone said I'd outdone myself. I'm sure it's great as a tube cake, too, and will try that over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Excellent! My recommendations: use lemon juice, not extract, but increase to 2 tsp. Regular flour instead of cake is fine, as long as you sift it. Cream of tartar is not needed - instead, add the lemon *juice* to the egg *whites* before whipping (lemon juice & cream of tartar are interchangeable as egg white stabilizers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States