Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
i was a little scared making this recipe at first since i didn't know what "stiff peaks" and "folding" was, but with a little googling, i decided to try it out since my hubby wanted to eat sponge cake! to those who said that their cake stuck to their pan, this is because your cake was overcooked! I know this for a reason because my oven was being stupid and half of my cake ended up overcooked and the other half perfect. The perfect side came out of the pan easy breezy while the overcooked side took a lot of scraping... I did substitute the lemon flavour with 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp of almond extract and baked for only 45 minutes. next time, i'll probably only use vanilla extract since hubby found the almond flavor to be too strong. overall, fantastic recipe, will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
wonderful cake just perfect. it hit the spot well with me and my family. definately a 5, but the strawberries i picked were really sour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Lovely cake, this recipe is def. a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Good. I made with 1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 almond extract instead of the lemon and it had a good flavor. I used an angel food cake tube pan (with the removeable bottom) and had no problem with sticking. I only cooked it for 40 minutes at 325, maybe those that stuck were overcooked? Needed to invert it for 25 minutes. Frosted it with strawberry marshmallow frosting (but used cherry) from this site. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colebrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I have the exact recipe in a favorite Italian cook book of mine! It's excellent and can be adapted in many ways. My favorite is to eliminate the lemon zest and lemon extract in exchange for 1/2 tsp. almond extract. While the cake is baking, I make a simple syrup and add sliced berries (strawberries usually) the juice of an orange and enough cold water/corn starch to thicken. Once the berries break down, I serve this sauce over my cake. For those of you in question whether or not you grease the pan and claim to be expert cooks: shame on those of you who question this! *LOL* No sponge cake or angel food cake should ever be baked in a greased pan; it won't rise like it should otherwise! Invert your pan over a bottle, allow the cake to completely cool, then run a sharp knife around the edges and the middle part of the pan, then gently stick a finger down the side of the cake and loosen the bottom, working gently and carefully. Excellent cake, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This cake was awful. It was barely lemony at all, and the texture was like eating a mouthful of lint. I know it's a sponge cake (I'll admit sponge is not my favorite, but I was looking for something light), but this literally felt like we were eating a sponge. I added a lemon glaze after eating one piece. That made it a bit better, but all in all I would never make this cake again. I am a very experienced cake maker, and this was my worst-tasting cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.H. West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This recipe is REALLY GREAT! The cake I've made is fluffy and delicious. And of course I added two tspns of lemon juice and loved the flavour! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I haven't ever given a recipe on this site one star before. I have a weekend business of making cakes for parties, ergo, I know how to bake properly. My friend has a birthday tomorrow and he requested a lemon sponge cake. I have not made one before given that I do not like sponge cakes. I found this recipe and tried it given that it was ranked highly by its users. I followed the instructions exactly including this statement: "Pour batter into an ungreased 9 inch tube pan. Bake at 325 degrees F (165 degrees C) for one hour, or until done." My cake is completely stuck in the tube pan. I assumed that since the author took the time to point out that the tube pan is to be ungreased (which is usually not the case with cakes baked in tube pans), they meant that the tube pan should definitely be ungreased. It is 9:30 PM right now and I have to start over using another recipe for my friend's birthday given that the cake is permanently attached to my tube pan. To say the least, this is frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friend, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Summit, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This recipe is great! Good flavor and taste with 1 T extra lemon juice. I TRIED to substitute Splenda Baking Sugar for the regular sugar and it did not really work. Totally my fault! Not an error with the Recipe. Thanks for submitting the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
i had friends over for coffee today. i made this cake following exact recipe it came out great,they loved it! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States