Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This cake is absolutely breathtaking. Of course, you are going to have lines from where you took it out of the tube pan, but the flavor makes up for it. It is very plain and simple on its own. I tried it with raspberry jam, powdered sugar, vanilla and lemon icing, lemon curd, and other various toppings. It also makes delicious french toast the morning after...trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Excellent! My recommendations: use lemon juice, not extract, but increase to 2 tsp. Regular flour instead of cake is fine, as long as you sift it. Cream of tartar is not needed - instead, add the lemon *juice* to the egg *whites* before whipping (lemon juice & cream of tartar are interchangeable as egg white stabilizers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Wonderful cake, turned out beautifully! Hubby thought it was store bought it came out so good. I was nervous about reviews saying it was stuck to the pan after cooking, but did not have an issue after allowing it to cool fully. Great texture. I did sub vanilla for the lemon, and cook time was a good 20 min less (but I cooked this in 2 loaf pans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winters, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I used it as a base for strawberry shortcake'. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Delicious! I baked in a normal cake pan and frosted with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Finally! A sponge cake that retained its volume even after cooking. I have a recipe that calls for squares of sponge cake, which I make in an 8"x8" pan, and every other recipe I tried fell flat. But this one stands tall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I give this recipe 6 stars! I baked my first sponge cake using this recipe, it came out amazing... Soft and completely spongey. I just used vanila instead of lemon zest as I wanted a cake with vanila taste. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LollySoly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Terrible cake! So rubbery and dry, really, my jaw is hurting after chewing a piece of this cake. And I even put some basic syrup on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This has to be the best sponge cake recipe I've tried yet! Perfect texture! The only changes I mad was to substitute the lemon extract and zest with 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1 tsp almond extract. I didn't have lemon on hand but if i did, i'd use fresh lemon juice. DO NOT grease the pan! Because the cake is so light, it will not rise! If your cake turned rubbery, do not over mix the flour and egg yolk. Take care to gently fold the egg whites into the yolk mixture bit my bit. Watch the cake starting from 30 min. Mine started to brown at around 40 min and so I took it out just in time. I'd reduce the time to 35 min next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheKook
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This recipe is very simple for an intermediate level chef. You have to know which consistency the yolks must have before gradually beating in the sugar and you have to know how stiff the peaks of your egg whites must be to get the right "sponge" consistency (and fold them in carefully, little by little). I added butter flavoring, eliminated the lemon zest and added vinegar in place of lemon juice. It turned out perfectly for the "bieskwie" I made for my family here in Belgium - a sponge cake filled with chocolate mousse and whipped cream, topped with chocolate chips and "iced" with more whipped cream. It was fantastic and I'm making it again tonight just because we loved it so much. If you're comfortable working with egg whites, this is a no-fail recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States