Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
very good...and moist..only took 45 min in my oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I did use this recipe to make home-made Twinkie™-like filled pastry... and this didn't give me any heartburn like its name-sake. I filled them with various fillings such as a wonderful ganache with butter-crunch cookies, vanilla-bean pastry cream filling, and almond schmear. I was in heaven!!! Because I was planning to use other flavors, I only used Mexican vanilla as my flavor base. This recipe is a keeper!!! And no -- I'm NOT sharing. They can make their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Borderbumble

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This cake turned out very dry. Maybe sponge cake is supposed to be dry? I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is a very nice recipe. Used it for a Jelly Roll came out very good. I will Def. make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made this in time for my birthday for my family. First time I attempted to make a sponge cake! I halved the recipe and made about 10 cupcakes with this. Baked at 325 degrees for 35 min. The cake itself was just-right in sweetness so I didn't need frosting. I cut each cupcake in half and spread berry-flavored Chobani (kiddie version that is whipped) with some jam in the middle, sprinkled some powdered sugar on top, and served it. Deelish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkyumi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Great cake. Very light and moist. I only baked mine for 45 minutes at 325 and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katarina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Oh dear dont know what went wrong....but I ended up with a frisbee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I don't know what went wrong. Only the top half was edible. I must have not whipped my eggwhites enough or used too much flour...the bottom half of the cake was like rubber. I used 2 tsp. of fresh lemon juice instead of the extract according to another review. Any other ideas of why it flopped????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I literally made 5 sponge cakes to decide which one to use in my trifles. This one was the winner. Don't change a thing. It's divine. Not too eggy, light and fluffy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
it is glorious. I used half water, half fresh lime juice and added the zest of that lime. I then used it to make a raspberry trifle, it was wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States