Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This cake turned out very dry. Maybe sponge cake is supposed to be dry? I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is a very nice recipe. Used it for a Jelly Roll came out very good. I will Def. make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made this in time for my birthday for my family. First time I attempted to make a sponge cake! I halved the recipe and made about 10 cupcakes with this. Baked at 325 degrees for 35 min. The cake itself was just-right in sweetness so I didn't need frosting. I cut each cupcake in half and spread berry-flavored Chobani (kiddie version that is whipped) with some jam in the middle, sprinkled some powdered sugar on top, and served it. Deelish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkyumi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Great cake. Very light and moist. I only baked mine for 45 minutes at 325 and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katarina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Oh dear dont know what went wrong....but I ended up with a frisbee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I don't know what went wrong. Only the top half was edible. I must have not whipped my eggwhites enough or used too much flour...the bottom half of the cake was like rubber. I used 2 tsp. of fresh lemon juice instead of the extract according to another review. Any other ideas of why it flopped????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I literally made 5 sponge cakes to decide which one to use in my trifles. This one was the winner. Don't change a thing. It's divine. Not too eggy, light and fluffy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
it is glorious. I used half water, half fresh lime juice and added the zest of that lime. I then used it to make a raspberry trifle, it was wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This cake is absolutely breathtaking. Of course, you are going to have lines from where you took it out of the tube pan, but the flavor makes up for it. It is very plain and simple on its own. I tried it with raspberry jam, powdered sugar, vanilla and lemon icing, lemon curd, and other various toppings. It also makes delicious french toast the morning after...trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Excellent! My recommendations: use lemon juice, not extract, but increase to 2 tsp. Regular flour instead of cake is fine, as long as you sift it. Cream of tartar is not needed - instead, add the lemon *juice* to the egg *whites* before whipping (lemon juice & cream of tartar are interchangeable as egg white stabilizers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States