Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Sponge Cake Noob Help: I’m a sponge cake noob and my first attempt at this fell, so I want to give advice to other noobs out there that may help. This is an awesome cake, and when you nail it you will love it. But if you aren’t certain you know how much to beat the eggs, watch a youtube video on what beating egg whites until they are stiff looks like! My first crack at this I was afraid to over beat the egg whites and the result was disastrous. But I did a rematch last night with a little help from my Super Husband and he beat the stuffing out of the egg white until I was faint with fear that they got so darned fluffy! I thought that couldn’t possibly be right. It was! It was very right! And the cake came out beautifully! AFTER CARE: I baked my cake in an ungreased bunt pan and flipped it upside down over a bottle when I took it out of the oven. After it cooled I righted the cake, ran a skewer around the edges twice and the cake popped out. It's delicious, and it makes a fantastic tea cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This was hard to get out of the pan. Not to happy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking34

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
The cake is a good recipe but the flavoring is lame. I squeezed a small orange and added the juice to the egg yoke mix and doubled the grated rind. Then, I added 1/2 tsp of Pumpkin Spice. Whole new cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This turned out great, I am glad I used my instincts and only left it in for 35 minutes, as the top was almost burnt. I am not sure why it needs an hour at 325 degrees, but I have a gas oven maybe mine just baked faster. Anyways, I used this for the cake in my strawberry shortcake, it is very similar to what my grandma use to make and I knew she was with me in spirit as I was making this as it tasted almost as good! I left out the lemon, added 1 tsp vanilla extract and kept everything else the same and actually used cake flour. I still haven't perfected my strawberry shortcake but in time I know I will get it right and I will use this sponge cake recipe in the future. This cake has potential for a lot of different recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I didn't change anything and used a lemon glaze to "frost" the cake. I Tried it a second time using orange zest and extract it it was still an amazing cake. It's low enough in sugar if you don't glaze or frost it it's diabetic friendly. The texture is lovely...almost that of angelfood cake. This is fast becoming the "go to" quick dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenyfur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Great recipe but I prefer vanilla flavoring instead of the lemon with a glaze frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe, it is my go-to cake. It's perfectly sweet and spongey, and it gets the job done. It is definitely "glorious"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Oh yum! It even turns out using whole wheat pastry flour, reduced sugar, and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
First time I have EVER made a sponge cake and it came out wonderful.... Now we are making them at least once a week and giving them to family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I made this with regular AP flour (i did sift it). I also don't have a bundt cake pan so I put it in a large bread loaf pan. It fit just fine an turned out spectacularly! Oh, I also replaced the lemon with vanilla because I have one son who does not like lemon flavored desserts. If you are separating the eggs and not very good at it, just be fearless. Pay attention and as soon as you think a yolk is broken just toss it into the yolk bowl. I was afraid because 2 out of my 6 egg yolks broke. There was even a little yolk in the egg whites. I scooped it out with a spoon and went on my way. The egg whites whipped light and fluffy just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States