Gloria's Sausage Gravy with Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Although this recipe does have a good flavor, it's really just creamy sausage with no gravy. I even doubled the flour & milk that was called for and still wasn't satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I think there must be a problem with the editing of this recipe cuz the "gravy" wasn't a gravy at all.....just a gluey meat. I salvaged it by making additional roux and milk (4 times the stated amount) I also think the rolls were too many for the gravy amount in the recipe. I would use baking powder biscuits instead of the raised roll recipe too. In our quest for the perfect sausage gravy our fav so far is Military S.O.S. Feasty style from this site. (with a few tweaks) My hubby says the Feasty style is the closest to his fav military breakfast staple. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Very interesting. Good seasoning, but the hot sauce doesn't make up for the lack of pepper. I added a tablespoon of fresh-ground black pepper. And as many people say, it really needs more milk and flour. It's rich enough so that it doesn't require half-and-half. I use 2% milk. Don't know about the biscuit recipe since I used packaged ones. I learned something from the nutmeg, W-sauce, onion and poultry seasoning. Overall, I'd just say more pepper and more milk. (WHO cooks a POUND of sausage for SB&G other than a restaurant?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Excellent, both the biscuits and the gravy! I left out the nutmeg (personal preference) and everything else was easy and perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is a good base recipe. My husband liked the taste but I did end up adding more milk. Next time would increase the flour to at least 2 tbsp and milk to 2 cups. I did drain the sausage a little after browning to get rid of some the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This recipe is the only reason my girlfriend stays with me. The combination of spices leaves you glowing after eating it. Everyone complains about the recipe not calling for enough milk, sure it needs more milk but it doesn't justify giving one star. Just add more milk until its the consistency you like. Gloria keep up the good work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Not a real recipe for biscuits. The gravy recipe seems close, but I don't like the over use of nutmeg in white sauces these days. Not everything should taste like Swedish meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DQ Slotkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
We didn't really care for this recipe that much. There was something about it that just didn't taste quite right, but I can't put my finger on it. Usually I like onions, but in this recipe I didn't care for it. Since the gravy came out really thick I added some extra milk to thin it out a little. I don't think I will make this one again since I've made other biscuits and gravy recipes that I've liked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I didn't find it too thick at all and I used the calculator to increase the recipe to 60 servings for a Master Gardener training class at our local AgCenter. It was the hit of the morning. I left out the hot sauce and put a bottle on the table for anyone who wanted to heat it up. It held very well all morning in a crock pot on low, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
double ingrediants except sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States