Gloria's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Terrible--tastes like an ordinary artifical box cake with rum poured on it. Try finding a recipe where you use natural ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2001
This cake was so good! I loved it! It was so easy to make. I plan to make it again very soon! It is extremely moist, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
WOW, excellent cake!!! I made it for a New Year's dinner, and everybody loved it. It is easy and delicious. Instead of yellow cake mix, I used a butter cake mix and it came out perfect. I will definitely continue making this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This is the Bacardi Rum Cake recipe word for word except they cut the glaze in half for some reason. For the proper amount of glaze, it's 1 stick butter, 1/4 cup of water and 1/2 cup dark rum. Also, just pour the glaze over the cake while it is still in the pan and it will soak into the cake in 5 mins. Invert onto a cake plate and it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeriNewman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This is ALMOST like my Aunt Hazel's rum cake. You have to double the glaze part and pour slowly over the hot cake (I don't poke holes in cuz I like the nuts to get soaked with it). Also, be sure to use dark rum for the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
I'm curious as to what the below reveiwer did wrong, because this was absolutly WONDERFUL!! Could taste the yummy rum flavor without it being too powerful! Excellent cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
All I have to say is, WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Easy to make and delicious to eat. I made this cake for my wedding and for my sister's wedding and it recieved an enthusiastic reception. I am also about to make it for my new husband's birthday, since it is one of his new favorites. I tend to add a bit more rum to the glaze to give it extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Fabulous & so easy! I followed the recipe exactly. Instead of baking in a big bundt pan, I have a tray that has 12 mini bundt pans and baked them in there instead. Kept the temp @ 350 and bake time was 18 minutes. So delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Loved the flavor of the cake. My family all loved it. I had some problem getting the pecans and sugar to coat the pan. Next time I'll combine the two before coating the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pella, Iowa, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States