Gloria's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I had never made rum cake and am not much of a baker, so decided to try this recipe. We all loved it. I did double the rum and get rid of the water though, and made it in cupcake tins, as I didn't have a bundt pan. All in all, a easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fillmore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I loved it. It was great with a cream cheese rum icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Thought it was good but not the best I've had. It has a pretty strong "box cake" taste to it, which I kind of hate. But other than that, it was VERY moist. heavy rum taste, and the walnuts are a perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSanc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Fantastic cake! I recommend using a stir fry pan (or Wok) instead of a bundt pan. This makes it way easier to get the pecans spread out on the bottom of the pan, and the thinner cake abssorbs the glaze much better. More glaze saturation and a more spread out pecan crust = even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I made these for Christmas baskets. I used dark coconut rum and baked them in the Wilton Snowflake pan. It was a big hit. Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This is the Bacardi Rum Cake recipe word for word except they cut the glaze in half for some reason. For the proper amount of glaze, it's 1 stick butter, 1/4 cup of water and 1/2 cup dark rum. Also, just pour the glaze over the cake while it is still in the pan and it will soak into the cake in 5 mins. Invert onto a cake plate and it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeriNewman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Very easy and delicious. Everyone I made it for loves it. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Excellent recipe and very easy! I doubled the glaze recipeand poured it over the cake. I aldo used french vanilla pudding and butter yellow cake...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Fabulous & so easy! I followed the recipe exactly. Instead of baking in a big bundt pan, I have a tray that has 12 mini bundt pans and baked them in there instead. Kept the temp @ 350 and bake time was 18 minutes. So delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
BEST RUM CAKE MY HUSBAND OR I HAVE EVER HAD! It is absolutely delicious. I, actually, deleted the nuts because my husband is not fond of them - and it was still perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States