Gloomy Day Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I agree with the commenter who likes smoothies cold, and with the commenter who likes them like milkshakes. I used 1/2 cup frozen organic orange juice concentrate and four ice cubes. I used the fresh mango chunks in a semi-freddo state. To the commenter who thought it bland, I added a tablespoon of wildflower honey, a tablespoon of fresh lemon juice, a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice blend, and a half tsp. of ground ginger. It is fantastic. Oh, to the commenter who uses less orange juice "to cut down on the sugar", if you're buying orange juice with added sugar, then you need to be buying better orange juice. There's no excuse these days for any mfr'r to be adding sugar to orange juice. The real trick is to buy non-pasteurized OJ, the heat kills the nutrients and any that are in there are usually added as supplements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Awesome! Reminded me of my warm home, Trinidad. The mangoes made it taste like heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Soooo good! I just made it and I love it! I didn't use any sugar because I feel like I'm getting enough of that from the juice, mango and the banana. It's a little tart but I love it! I also followed what Vicki2 did. I like my drinks cold too and since it's warmer, this is so perfect. This would be great on a rainy day when I'm inside, snuggled up and watching netflix too. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Amazing smoothie recipe that hit the spot. Added a cup of ice and used a frozen banana to get the coldness going. Just half a cup of plain yogurt worked well here. A touch of cinnamon for garnish adds nicely to it. This was a delicious and tangy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
1st attempt, slightly sour. 2nd attempt, used another brand of orange juice and it was better. So take note of the orange juice you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by titanbeans
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I liked it but I think that there were too many bananas in it and it was really warm and too liquidy for a smoothie. Overall it was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My first smoothie ever! Delicious. It was so good I just might leave the blender out on the counter so I can hit it up any time. Great ingredients that went together beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This was delish exactly as written. I used fresh squeezed OJ and Vanilla Coconut milk yogurt to make it Vegan. Drank the whole thing for my breakfast this A.M. with multi grain waffles. So healthy and Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I just started a smoothie diet last week and this is in ny top 3 favorites. The only problem I have with it - and it is a BIG one, seeing I am counting calories - is the calories this recipe claims to have is waaayy off. If you add the yogurt and oj together,it is more than the 150 calories it claims to have. It still is great, but not necessarily for those on a diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Last Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Delicious and tangy as is. Try doing 1 TBSP orange juice concentrate, instead of 1 C. orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States