Glen's Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Really good versatile sauce - good on vegetables, pasta, over eggs, as fondue, it'll do your taxes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very good! I didn't have any sherry, but other than that it went over perfectly with the family. I will try it with the sherry next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairns, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Smooth and creamy, but not enough cheese flavor to suit me, even though I used double the amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Very good cheese sauce! I didn't add the sherry but it still came out very yummy. And I added a dash of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I used this over steamed broccoli and my broccoli adverse son really liked it; so did my husband. I scaled it to 4 and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Yummy. Mine thickened up just fine - those who had trouble with that probably need to raise the heat just a little and let it cook a bit longer before adding the cheeses. I'd use less sherry and more cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Loved this recipe!!! I found it to be very easy and not time consuming at all. Although first time trying I admit that I tweeked it a bit by adding a 1/3 cup more of sherry, 1 1/2 cup milk, 1/4 cup parmesan cheese and 2 cups Kraft finely shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Once butter is melted on low heat, I found that by turning the heat up to med./low you must stir and watch carefully after adding the initial ingredients and before adding cheeses as the mixture will lump up terribly. Should this happen don't dump and start over, simply stir a bit vigorously mashing out any lumps that have formed for about 5 min. once mixture is smooth again you can begin to add your cheeses and lower the heat some and continue to stir. I found that if you add too much cheese such as the cheddar it may be a bit too much taste wise, but adding some extra milk not too much will get it just right. Poured it over some steamed broccoli and it was simply "DELISH"...Thanks So Much Glen. Can't wait to try it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I made this tonight for supper. The family all really loved it. I used mozzarella in place of swiss and I also substituted taco sauce for the sherry. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was tasty! I'm usually not good at sauces that need to thicken, but this was easy! I used more cheddar than swiss, and did not add paprika since I did not have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
As others had said, I had to use 2 to 3 times as much cheese to get a thick consistancy. Next time I will probably just use the right amount of cheese and halve everything else because it ended up making a lot more then I needed. Also, next time I will use more cheddar and less swiss, but thats just a personal preference. Overall, it is a very good cheese sauce. I will definately make it again with the changes I mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States