Glen's Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
My hubby liked the sauce, I thought it could use more of the seasonings. I also would use more cheese. I plan on perfecting this recipe and using it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Tried it tonight on steamed veggies. Very good. Kids kept coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This recipe is well done, with a more "gourmet" flavor than the typical cheese sauce. The mustard, and particularly the Swiss cheese and sherry (I used dry sherry, not cooking sherry) all contributed to a more elegant sauce. Still, this was not something we were particularly crazy for - not on our broccoli anyway. Actually, this would be an excellent fondue with crostini or rye chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is the perfect cheese sauce! We use only sharp Cheddar instead of Swiss. My children will happily eat any veggie if I mix it with pasta and top it with this sauce. I have also added ground turkey to the pasta, veggies, and sauce, to make a quick and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is a pretty good recipe - the instructions on making the roux / white sauce are sorely lacking. Melt the butter in a heavy saucepan over medium heat. Stir in flour & spices until smooth, then continue to cook and stir until lightly browned, about 10 minutes. Gradually stir in the milk / sherry so that no lumps form and then simmer until thick, stirring the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
swiss cheese and cheddar make the sauce to salty. do not like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gaston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was a really easy recipe. I made it for my fiance to eat broccoli with. I added "Mexican Cheese" to give it some kick.. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Love, Love, Love it! I have been making essentially this same sauce, minus the Sherry, for years, I'm always experimenting with the cheeses, so I came here to look for ideas for different cheeses to try. Adding the Sherry made all the difference! I made my basic 60/40 Swiss/Cheddar blend and it was fabulous. It's a much more sophisticated flavor. I'll (almost)never make my bechamel without the Sherry again. I think even when a more subtle sauce is needed you can just adjust the amount of the Sherry. Thank you Glen for helping me kick Grandmas green bean casserole up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Excellent cheese sauce. I like it when made exactly as per the recipe and I'm sure I'll enjoy the suggested variations. In regards to clumping I've found that after adding the liquid to the butter/flour mixture it's best to use a whisk and to continuously whisk it until it thickens. I've never had a butter/flour/milk (white) sauce clump when done this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Double the cheese. Perfectly smooth, so easy to make. I will definitely make this my go to cheese sauce recipe for soups and toppings. Great on my pulled pork and broccoli baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States