Glen's Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This tasted too much of flour and too little of cheese. Sorry. I couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Not cheesy enough for us! I'll likely use the recipe again, but add much more cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmisjaqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was alright - neither good nor bad. I think it was how I used this that didn't work for me. I had some leftover spicy shredded beef in the fridge and decided that nachos would be a good use for it. I LOVE cheese sauce with my nachos and decided on this one in lieu of a more traditional, spicy sauce (mainly because my beef was already SUPER spicy). Both my hubs and I agree that this would make a fine fondue, but it doesn't work for much else than that. I can see this being popular at a dinner party when served with bite-sized meats (i.e. filet), bread, fruit, etc. I might consider making this for my next holiday get-together, but I'm not sure about making this for the two of us again. Thanks anyways, Glen! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I used this on some steak nachos. It was good...but I think I would do all cheddar, or a different cheese than Swiss. Was easy enough to make though, and no one complained!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This had absolutely no flavor whatsoever. I added more salt, which made it a little better, added more spices, tried some garlic, and added some Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I made this recipe for our dinner tonight we had it over the broccoli... I changed a few ingredients and left a couple out as well. I used half and half instead of milk, 1 cup shredded colby jack, instead of swiss and cheddar, I left out the sherry, and used garlic powder and onion powder in place of the mustard powder and the paprika. I used a bit more salt and pepper than called for (you should season to taste), and a sprinkle of chopped parsley just to be fun... It turned out pefrectly, and I must say it was delicious. Probably one of, if not, the best cheese sauce I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Good stuff, brings back memories of my family's cheese sauce growing up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
My family loves cheese sauce but we didn't care for this one. I followed the recipe accurately but we found that the sherry was overpowering and didn't go well with our steamed vegetables. Next time I will just add a little more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
My hubby liked the sauce, I thought it could use more of the seasonings. I also would use more cheese. I plan on perfecting this recipe and using it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Tried it tonight on steamed veggies. Very good. Kids kept coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States