Glen's Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This tasted too much of flour and too little of cheese. Sorry. I couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Not cheesy enough for us! I'll likely use the recipe again, but add much more cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmisjaqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was alright - neither good nor bad. I think it was how I used this that didn't work for me. I had some leftover spicy shredded beef in the fridge and decided that nachos would be a good use for it. I LOVE cheese sauce with my nachos and decided on this one in lieu of a more traditional, spicy sauce (mainly because my beef was already SUPER spicy). Both my hubs and I agree that this would make a fine fondue, but it doesn't work for much else than that. I can see this being popular at a dinner party when served with bite-sized meats (i.e. filet), bread, fruit, etc. I might consider making this for my next holiday get-together, but I'm not sure about making this for the two of us again. Thanks anyways, Glen! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I used this on some steak nachos. It was good...but I think I would do all cheddar, or a different cheese than Swiss. Was easy enough to make though, and no one complained!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This had absolutely no flavor whatsoever. I added more salt, which made it a little better, added more spices, tried some garlic, and added some Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I made this recipe for our dinner tonight we had it over the broccoli... I changed a few ingredients and left a couple out as well. I used half and half instead of milk, 1 cup shredded colby jack, instead of swiss and cheddar, I left out the sherry, and used garlic powder and onion powder in place of the mustard powder and the paprika. I used a bit more salt and pepper than called for (you should season to taste), and a sprinkle of chopped parsley just to be fun... It turned out pefrectly, and I must say it was delicious. Probably one of, if not, the best cheese sauce I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Good stuff, brings back memories of my family's cheese sauce growing up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
My family loves cheese sauce but we didn't care for this one. I followed the recipe accurately but we found that the sherry was overpowering and didn't go well with our steamed vegetables. Next time I will just add a little more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
My hubby liked the sauce, I thought it could use more of the seasonings. I also would use more cheese. I plan on perfecting this recipe and using it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Tried it tonight on steamed veggies. Very good. Kids kept coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States