Glen's Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
As others had said, I had to use 2 to 3 times as much cheese to get a thick consistancy. Next time I will probably just use the right amount of cheese and halve everything else because it ended up making a lot more then I needed. Also, next time I will use more cheddar and less swiss, but thats just a personal preference. Overall, it is a very good cheese sauce. I will definately make it again with the changes I mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is a really easy recipe to make macaroni and cheese! I made a few changes, though. I left out the mustard powder, Swiss cheese, and sherry. I also added a lot of cheddar cheese (1 cup mild or 3/4 cup sharp.) I have made this many times (at least 5) for easy macoroni and cheese. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I just tried this on top of a breakfast egg bake in place of cheddaer and it was delicious. I will also try the fondue suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I really love this sauce, especially for broccoli and cheese baked potatoes. I've also used it to make mac & cheese, or added some hot sauce to make a tortilla dip. Wonderful! My only real change is I do usually add twice as much cheese as what it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERAWALLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great cheese sauce. I did double the cheese using only sharp cheddar, a heaty sprinkle of ground cayenne and about 1/2 tablespoon of worchestire instead of salt. I am using on broccoli tonight but I think it would make a good sauce for macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was very good sauce however, I doubled the cheese which I think is necessary to achieve a thick rich sauce. Without the extra cheese it was a bit bland and too runny. Also the sherry adds a nice sophisticated touch! Will use as my standby recipe for cheese sauce. Very Tasty! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Wow, this cheese sauce was great! I did add some more salt, and I didn't have any sherry so I used white wine. IT WAS GREAT! We poured it all over our broccoli and spaghetti!YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela.K9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I followed the advice of Lady Jaypee and doubled the cheese. I also added a splash of Worchestershire sauce. I omitted the salt. Nice sauce for my broccoli. Thanks Glen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This recipe was excellent. The sauce was very creamy. I did use more cheddar than called for. I also added parmesan cheese. I love strong cheddar taste. I used it to make macaroni and cheese> Very quick and simple to prepare. Looks of flexibility as well with cheese varieties depending on what you have in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
We really enjoyed this delicately-flavored sauce. I wanted a thicker sauce so doubled (or maybe 3x) the cheese. Had to use all cheddar as my Swiss gruyere was frozen! I think the Swiss, combined with the sherry, would be really good too. Served over steamed cauliflower. Thanks for the recipe, Glen. I'll use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States