Glenn's Rhubarb Crumble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
If you like rhubarb, this is a good one. I made mine in a 7 x 11 size pan instead of a 9 x 13 pan as the recipe only calls for 3 cups of rhubarb. Rhubarb cooks/bakes down a lot and I wanted a thicker dessert. I also used 1 cup of sugar omitting the need for the extra ¼ cup especially since the topping has another cup of sugar in it. The bake time and temp is spot on for this recipe. We enjoyed it warm the first night with vanilla ice cream and room temp the next evening. It was good both ways, but the topping is definitely better on the first night as it crunchier, which is how my family likes it. On the second day the topping absorbed the liquid from bottom layer, although still very good, just not as crunchy. A very good dessert that I will be making again with all the rhubarb I froze this season. Thanks, Glenn for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I used this recipe as a starter for the basics and then tweaked it..thank you for the base recipe! For those interested I added a full tsp of cinnamon wherever it called for a 1/2...I love cinnamon. I used 1/2 cup of sugar and the rest stevia natural sweetener (18 of the little scoops)... I added 1 cup of apples (gala) and 1 1/2 cups strawberries.. the topping I used just a bit less brown sugar and just under 3/4 cup of butter. There is LOTS of topping!! I just finished tasting it and I'm so happy there is a whole pan left to eat!! its amazing. possibly sweeter due to the stevia and strawberries..it doesn't even need ice cream! mmmmm.. thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I doubled the crisp and took Glen's suggestion of putting a bottom layer and top later on it. I baked the bottom at 375 for about 15 mins until it was slightly browned on the sides. Then I added the rhubarb and finally the last layer of crisp. As I was making this I was thinking the ratio of rhubarb to crisp was going to be way off but let me say this was not the case! It was a cross between a crisp and bar and it was so good! By doubling the crisp I ended up with way to much, even with the bottom layer so maybe next time I'll only make 1 1/2 of the original recipe. Thanks Glen! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I really like this recipe. I did not add the egg and instead added extra flour. I also added an extra cup of rhubarb. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
YUM! But what's not to like with butter and brown sugar! I used about 5 cups of diced rhubarb to cover bottom of 9 x 13 and kept the other ingredients the same. Also used slightly less butter for top - a little over 3/4 cup. Very good and very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
made the recipe as written and added 1 1/2 cups frozen strawberries. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
made this in a brownie pan instead and turned out perfect i used raw sugar (which dosent have the molasses taken out ) for the crumble mixture and added a bit more sugar to the rhubarb filling. was awesome great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Pretty good recipe, but far too sweet and not enough rhubarb. I would at least double, possibly triple the amount of rhubarb, cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup of each (white and brown) at most, and increase the cinnamon a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Very good, added some strawberries and an extra cup of rhubarb kept everything else the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Delicious! I made a few changes for my family's tastes based on other comments. I used 4 cups of rhubarb instead of 3. I doubled the cinnamon for the fruit mix and the crumble. I added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg to the fruit mix. I only used a 1/2 cup of butter for the crumble. I baked it in a 9x9 stoneware pan and it took 45-50 minutes at 375°.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States