Glenn's Marinated Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I just made this recipe with only one change to method: I marinated the roast overnight, then cooked it in my slow cooker on low for about seven hours, with broth added for the moisture. (Our roast was 5-6 pounds.) I just woke up, and it is almost beyond fork-tender and quite yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Minerva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I used this recipe on a 7lb pork shoulder. I literally left it in the fridge for 2 days. I made small changes to the recipe, instead of molasses I used a mixture of syrup and honey. I also added a few more powdered seasoning like turmeric and white pepper and cilantro flakes. After 48 hours of marinating I stuck in the oven at 250 and checked every hour to spoon the marinaded juicy pork gravy right back on top. I added about 4 beads of all spice to the pot after 2 hours (just because). The meat was amazing and the juices were yummy...so I made grave and added chopped mushrooms to it. The grave over mushrooms was such a hit at home. Other sided dished was greens, corn, rice, pasta, corn bread, Mac n' Cheese. I will be doing this on a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I gave this recipe 4 stars rather than 5 because I found out that the recommended "done" temperture is not correct for this cut of meat. I had never cooked this cut before, and assumed that the temperature of 165 degrees was good because this is what pork should normally be. My first attempt was a disaster! The flavor was great due to the marinade, but the meat was fatty, grizzly, and tough.Since we had a few of these roast from a 1/2 pig purchase, I was ready to throw them all out. Instead, I did more research, and found out that this cut of meat should be cooked for 1 1/2 to 2 hours per lb. after the trim of fat, annd the internal temperature should be 180-185 degrees for sliced and 190 to 205 degrees for pulled pork. For my 2nd attempt, the roast was about 5 lbs. after trimming of fat. I figured about 10 hours to roast it at 275 degrees. It got to 195 degrees in about 8 hours. Since it got done earlier than planned, I put it in a plate and covered it with tin foil for an hour or so until I was ready for it. I skimmed the fat from the drippings and made the remaining liquid into a gravy by thickening it with flour. This time it was amazing. The meat was tender, and the gravy was full of flavor. The success in cooking this cut of meat is to cook it slowly for long enough that the fats and tendons break down. The final internal temperature has to be higher than it would be for general pork roasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
really good marinade - I marinated 4 large Iowa Chops for 4 hours and next time I would double that time to really infuse the flavors as I don't think I got the full potential of the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I prefer thicker marinades. It was loose but it taste good. I doubled my ingredients. I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coaco1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I made this in the slow cooker using this recipe and it was awesome.I used the marinade ingredients as listed but I put it all together in the slow cooker dish,left it in fridge overnight and cooked the next day.When it was done,I added some fresh mushrooms for a few minutes.Served it over texas toast and sprinkled some grated cheese over top.Husband ate it for 2 days!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
LOve this recipe..the meat was very moist and tasted great..will make agian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Smelled great and tasted fantastic! Baked in the oven for 4 hrs at 275... we made tacos out of it. Yum. UPDATE: We used pork loin instead of sholder and it cooked MUCH faster... if you use loin, cut the time down alot and watch it so it doesn't dry out! Still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
The marinade was great but the meat was terribly tough (not the marinades fault). I think next time I will use this marinade on a more tender cut of meat. I marinated the roast for 24 hours and the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a slightly sweet marinade for moist and tender grilled pork.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States