Glenn's Marinated Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
My family is not big on pork, so I never had much growing up. Pork shoulder was on sale at the supermarket and I picked up 10lbs...the price was too low to resist. I was at a loss as to how to cook it, and wasn't expecting much, given my lack of experience with pork. I used this marinade overnight in a nearly airtight container and it was up there with the best meat I have ever had. (We barbecued it.) Substitutions: I used red wine vinegar instead of white vinegar, and added a pinch of Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Because of your WONDERFUL recipe, I finally made the perfect pork shoulder! The only thing I didn't add was the soy sauce because I didn't have any... My husband actually told me it was the second best meal I've prepared--although he couldn't name the first (the nerve...LOL)! Anywho... THANK YOU GLENN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe! I had most of the ingredients, I think the only thing I didn't have was molasses and corn syrup, so I added a little honey and mirin (sweet sake) for sweetness. Put it in my crockpot for about 6 hours and served it for Christmas dinner. Leftovers were pork sandwiches, and I could still taste the amazing marinade flavors. Also I reduced the marinade from the crockpot on the stove for about 20 minutes to a glaze. DELISH! I'll definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Perfect combination of sweet and tangy for me. Family loved it! After dinner I finished pulling the meat off the bone and let it soak in all the cooked juices overnight. Even better second day. Cheers Glenn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasonFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
The family loved it! I had about 30 people over for my daughter's b-day party and cooked 3 shoulders. When I told the I made it myself, they were all very surprised as they just assumed I'd picked it up from a local BBQ establishment. Couldn't be happier with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
My Family BEGS me to make this. I let cook in a crock pot for 15 hours on low. Then pull it apart and add bar-b-que sauce. The best pulled pork EVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GO BUCKEYES!!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coopersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Just delicious, slow cooked it on grill overnight for about 8 hours with mesquite charcoal and wood chips, wrapped in foil with holes poked in foil. It was falling off the bone. Great we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
delicious! My husband was impressed and promises to let me do all the marinating from now on. 3 hours was not enough cook time. Need to wait until the bone starts sticking out. Took about 4 hours for us. We also use wood chips for added flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanaDurdin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and I grilled an 8 lb. pork shoulder over an indirect 300-350 degree gas fire. It took about 5 hours to cook to 160 degrees. The outside was over done but the inside was GREAT! I will make it again and allot more cooking time. As an added bonus, the leftover meat made superb cold sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Delicious! I cooked my in a roaster for over 6 hours and it was perfect! I added sweet chili sauce from the asian market and it was the bomb! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afrikamommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a slightly sweet marinade for moist and tender grilled pork.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States