Glendora's Chocolate Fudge Pudding (Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is a classic British dessert that I have been making for 20 yrs. I think this one adds a little too much salt. A pinch will do. The walnuts are optional. You would never, ever turn this cake out to serve. Big mess. Don't try. A really easy cake to make though and always popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Welshie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wixom, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe is for "chocolate cake and syrup"; not pudding. It is like others have said, "runny" "delicious" "chocolate fix". Make it in a 9 inch square pan; serve right from the pan, scoop out cake, a scoop if ice cream, then top with the syrup. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
the cake part of this had a nice taste, but the pudding was more like a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I actually made this in a 1 quart dish. Horrible mistake. Most of the sauce ended on the bottom of my stove. I recommend using a 2 quart dish so that when the sauce boils it has room to expand. When we ate it (most of the sauce gone and very thin), it wasn't sweet at all. The very rich flavor would be excellent with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Hey guys, This is meant to be eaten cobbler style..served hot in a bowl with ice cream on top. If it isn't a little runny you will lose the hot fudge syrup kick. Try it again with that in mind :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is a true pudding cake that was popular in the 1980's and 1990's. Its not meant to be turned out onto a platter but it is meant to be sponed out into a dish and topped with ice cream or whipped cream. Its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is a nice pudding cake and better eaten hot with ice cream. For reviewers that complained about it being runny that is the way it is supposed to be: cake on top and a sauce on the bottom. Do not try to put on a plate - just spoon it out of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy F.
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I'm giving this a four as the taste was good, but man, it was a runny mess. Do not, I repeat, do not invert cake to a platter to serve. I had a placemat underneath thankfully, but the pudding-ness ran all over it. I would make again (great chocolate fix), but I would just dish it out from the pan itself and serve with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream. I kept putting the cake back in the oven thinking it just needed more time to bake, but that wasn't the case. I would rate this five stars if not for the consistency- but it isn't called "Chocolate Fudge PUDDING (Cake)" for nothing. Expect more pudding than cake, and you will be very pleased. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I wish I could give this recipe a fabulous review, but I can't. Sounds delicious, but it came out very runny. Not really pudding,really, just used it as a chocolate sauce over the cake part. Not a super recipe, but the kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States