Glazed Yeast Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This is the best doughnut recipe I've ever tried. They taste like the real thing! WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
These didn't rise much at all and are pretty bland. The glaze is just sugar rather than having a flavor and needs vanilla or something. They had a cakelike texture which is not what I was going for. If you like cake doughnuts and put a good frosting or glaze on these they would be fine. If you are looking for a glazed doughnut like you can get at your local doughnut shop, this is definitely not the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
i have tried many doughnut recipes and none have ever worked but these were great light, fluffy, and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Good recipe. I was a Navy cook for 8 years and we had a similar recipe. This is a very easy recipe. The dough itself is not very sweet, which can be nice so they are not too sweet. I also added a little bit of sugar with the yeast and water to allow the yeast to activate a little faster. My kids and I had a lot of fun rolling and cutting these out. Will make again. I covered mine with melted chocolate and powdered sugar! They were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
My husband and I made them on a date night together and were both surprised about how easy these were to make. They took time to rise, but goodness was it worth it! Thanks Sanah! :) *P.S...chocolate glaze is wonderful on them!*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
these doughnuts were very easy to make. They were light and fluffy but they lacked taste. I would sugguest adding the nutmeg or vanilla extract to give it some flavoring. I topped them with icing glaze containing confectioner's sugar , milk and vanilla extract to give the icing some vanilla flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I hate giving bad reviews, but I did not care for this recipe. The doughnuts were light and fluffy, but there wasn't a taste to the dough. It was beyond bland, and had a bad aftertaste. The glaze didn't help, it had a very chalky taste. I will continue to search for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Benning, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Basically a good, serviceable recipe. The nutmeg, however, is way, WAY off. Too much, so that spice overpowers and dominates the flavor. About 1/4 tsp gives you that nice little hint of taste. In no case, however, would I ever put in more than 1/2 tsp, and that's if you really like nutmeg. If allowed to rise properly, then slid into the oil with the exposed side down you will have lovely, puffy, light treats. Just take care not to be too impatient and fry the cut donuts without waiting for them to rise sufficiently. That second rise can make the difference between light donuts and "sinkers."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Delicious! Add sprinkles for extra cha-zing! The only reason this is four stars instead of five is because we accidently overcooked some! Practically 5 stars! yyyyyyyaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Was wanting something more light, and airy these are more a cake donut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie9035

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States