Glazed Yeast Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Basically a good, serviceable recipe. The nutmeg, however, is way, WAY off. Too much, so that spice overpowers and dominates the flavor. About 1/4 tsp gives you that nice little hint of taste. In no case, however, would I ever put in more than 1/2 tsp, and that's if you really like nutmeg. If allowed to rise properly, then slid into the oil with the exposed side down you will have lovely, puffy, light treats. Just take care not to be too impatient and fry the cut donuts without waiting for them to rise sufficiently. That second rise can make the difference between light donuts and "sinkers."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Good recipe. I was a Navy cook for 8 years and we had a similar recipe. This is a very easy recipe. The dough itself is not very sweet, which can be nice so they are not too sweet. I also added a little bit of sugar with the yeast and water to allow the yeast to activate a little faster. My kids and I had a lot of fun rolling and cutting these out. Will make again. I covered mine with melted chocolate and powdered sugar! They were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
incredible! pretty easy, just need a day at home in order to make them. More than a few times a year eating these would clog your arteries anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hannah
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These were ok. I baked them instead of fried them, which actually worked very well. The only problem was that they were too dense and I also thought the nutmeg was a little strong. You just want a hint of it, not for it to be over-powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Doughnuts were dense and not those light ones. They were ok...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Zuriel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I have never made doughnuts before. These turned out pretty good. Very good with a vanilla glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Was wanting something more light, and airy these are more a cake donut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie9035

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I love this recipe! it's complicated but it was worth it! And this is a 12 year old baker saying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Delicious! Add sprinkles for extra cha-zing! The only reason this is four stars instead of five is because we accidently overcooked some! Practically 5 stars! yyyyyyyaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I made a double batch, and while they were OK, I personally thought that they were a little bland. I used almond extract instead of nutmeg, don't care for that taste and iced them with Chocolate. I think the donut needed more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry
Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States