Glazed Yeast Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I may be a man of simple tastes, but I love my donuts (or doughnuts if you prefer). This is probably the best recipe I have tried on allrecipes.com. Usually recipes try to form a veritable gestalt upon the taste buds with too much sugar or other similar issues, but this recipe is right on for an easily made donut that I might venture to call fluffy little delightful morsels of happiness. It is fantastic with a dusting of cinnamon & suguar, powdered/confectioners sugar, glaze, frosting, sprinkles, and/or chocolate. There isn't much not to like about this recipe. Hats off to the contributor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by billiejw89
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was my first time making doughnuts...or anything that involves yeast. They turned out great and were a blast to make with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by billiejw89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
wonderful,great easy recipe for doughnuts:)) i just made it and it was sooooo great.for the taste it is optional,like you can change nutmeg by vanilla or Cinnamon,i put vanilla extract in the glazing and it was awsome:))))thank you Sanah:)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was almost flavorless--as I baked and didn't fry the donuts--but the texture was wonderful! Since I loved the texture and consistency of these donuts so much, I'm going to tweak this recipe a bit until I get a truly fabulous baked yeast donut! (I don't eat fried foods). Below are some tips I've come up with for more flavor next time around: 1) If baking, pre-heat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit and then bake donuts for 10 minutes. Donut holes will need to bake for 12 minutes. 2) Use 1 Cup scolded milk with 1/4 C. instant coffee, instant cappuccino or flavored liqueur mixed in. 3) Add 1/2 C. chopped, toasted nuts or pieces of chocolate to the tops of the donuts after you cut them from the dough and you proof them for a second time. *Please note, only add these items if baking the donuts or else the nuts or chocolate will burn. I hope some of these ideas help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Diva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I've used this recipe several times both as a full and half batch. It works exceptionally well in a bread machine. I think the frying oil temp is a bit too hot at 375. I put mine down at 300F and they don't brown as quickly. The second rise is the most important one. When they're big and light, you drop them into the oil. Some of mine have almost doubled in size! I've also substituted butter flavored shortening in a pinch, they were still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I would highly NOT recommend this recipe. I followed the instructions, but omitted the nutmeg becuase I did not have any on hand. I was really looking forward to this recipe because of the high ratings and great reviews. I noticed that some reviewers mentioned the "bland" taste and said they were going to add vanilla extract next time. I added 1/2 teaspoon (I was using half the recipe), yet still the dough was very bland. I have also followed the recipe stating "knead for 3-4 mins" I kneaded mine no longer than the given time, and my donuts came out tough. I am never making this donut again! I'm sure there is better recipes out there for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I love baking!
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Ok, I was looking for a nice light and chewy donut, like the kind we can get at a bakery or the grocery store bakery. These were very dense and not like donuts. Even with the chocolate glaze (Easy Chocolate bundt cake glaze - from this site, which is awesome!) It really wasn't a donut, very bread like. I did not use the nutmeg. ********** However, I did end up using the other half of the donut dough and baked them plain, instead of frying and made bagels! So, this recipe makes a good baked bagel that I made into breakfast sandwichs. To make bagels, just follow the recipe and bake them. Then split them in half and you have homemade bagels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Aside from being really easy, they are easily flavored to your own taste. The batch I just made I cut without the center holes so I could fill them with preserves. I also did some rolled in cinnamon and sugar and others with a maple glaze. MUST EAT FRESH!! I have to agree with a previous post, if they turned out like hockey pucks, you did something completely wrong, and as far as flavor, if it's too bland add your own flavoring, or fillings/glazes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Northwest Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Plains, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
try using powdered milk and adding hot water instead of scalding your milk. it will improve on the texture of the dough. i like fresh yeast instead of dry yeast as well, it just responds better and with the frosting add just a spot of vanilla and almond extract. bland sugar frosting is very unappealing. otherwise a fair recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
these are really, really good!! I added vanilla to the milk before I scorched it, and I only used 1/2 a tsp of nutmeg. Also, instead of glazing the doughnuts, I tossed them in cinnamon and confectionery sugar. These doughnuts were so light and fluffy!! you just have to know what you are doing to get them right.... if your doughnuts came out dense or flat you are doing something wrong. my only hangup (and the reason I gave them four stars instead of five) is that they absolutely have to be eaten fresh. the next day they are dry and hard :( eat them when they are still warm, and you'll die and go to heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggiecp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States