Glazed Yeast Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Great. But mine came a bit hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This recipe was edible but more like a dinner roll than donut. Could easily use twice the sugar and definitely double if not triple the amount of yeast. We did let them rise till more than double on both proofings and they were still a bit dense. Flavor was ok but added some vanilla could have used more also a great use for pumpkin pie spice as sub for nutmeg adds a little more complex flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
tried this and loved how simple and light they were...tasted almost like my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This is a great recipe, simple to make and covered in powered sugar or covered in glaze, they were yummy... Everybody in the family ate 3 or 4 each while they were still warm. Very filling.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Bland not enough sugar or flavor in dough,luckily I made rum glaze that saved the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
The recipe was easy to follow and prepare. The doughnuts looked beautiful once done however the taste was very disappointing. They were very bland. Once I put the glaze on it was like eating puffy cardboard with wet powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erica L Ingram
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Well these were easy enough to make and I used a regular sugar glaze cooked over the stove because I didn't have enough powdered sugar. Will make again! Whoever had flat donuts was doing something wrong. Mine turned out fine. I used dinosaur, flower, star, heart, teddy bear, butterfly, and round cutters. Picture provided if you want to see finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica L Ingram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I used this recipe for the first time and it will now be my only doughnut recipe! I added nutmeg and did little doughnut holes and rolled them in icing sugar. Be sure your holes are only about 1 inch in diameter as they will puff up twice their size. 5 minutes in a deep fryer and cool. There is so much flavour, you do not need any glaze. They were a HUGE hit! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. They tasted like fried white bread. The recipe could easily support a teaspoon of salt and 2/3 cups sugar. We're going to stick to store-bought donuts. They taste great, are inexpensive, and you're house won't smell. Also much less work and clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Lacked flavor and sugar wouldn't stay on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States