Glazed Tofu Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Wasn't sure what to expect before making this, but it turned out great! Followed the recipe for the most part but did make some changes. I only used 1 lb of ground turkey but still used the entire package of tofu. Instead of dried bread crumbs, I used 2 slices of wheat bread that I tore apart in to small pieces. I also used low-sodium soy sauce. Wasn't too salty at all even after using a whole packet of onion soup mix! The only thing I would change next time is to cook the green pepper beforehand so the pieces are not so crunchy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This deserves 5 stars! What a great way to use tofu in a meatloaf and it DOES blend incredibly well...you don't know it's partly meatless! I also agree that the sauce makes it it...I think it's worth doubling or even tripling. I didn't think the sauce was too salty...keep it as is. However, due to the other reviews abou the onion soup mix being too salty (and also the fact that I didn't have any on-hand), here's what I mixed the meatloaf with and it turned out perfectly seasonsed: 1/2 panko crumbs, 2 TB's teriyaki sauce, 1 small chopped onion, 1/4 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper, 1/8 tsp garlic salt, 1/4 tsp Spike gourmet seasoning (or something similar). I followed the recipe with the same amount of eggs and I did add the green pepper, but I used more tofu (19 oz. instead of 14 oz.) and used only 1 lb. of ground turkey. Delish! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I used 2 12 0z bags of the ground morning star soy portein product instead of turkey and it was wonderful! Texture was just like meat? thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by listaparacomer
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
So delicious! The sauce really is key as all others have said (even though I used coarse dijon b/c I didn't have yellow)...Doesn't matter what protein you bake. I used ground bison and seasoned it without adding the onion soup mix. Also used panko flakes and forgot to mash the small cubes of leftover tofu, but no matter, it still came out looking good and yummy! For half the # of servings, it took about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I was starving and didn't want to wait for it to cook in the oven. I sauteed up some onion and the tofu in a pan, then added the rest of the ingredients. It didn't 'look' the greatest but it sure was tasty and quick! Great high protein dinner with little fat and carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I took the suggestions from others by using 1/2 of the soy sauce. I used pork instead of turkey and it turned out really juicy. I didn't use the green peppers, but I minced some onions and mixed it in. I think next time I will add water chestnuts diced, to add a nice crunch to it. It was very tasty. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I really enjoyed this and loved that there was tofu in it! I doubled the sauce so I had enough to last. Thank you for the reviewers for that suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
We loved this recipe! I'm not a big fan of meatloaf, but the hubby is so I'm always on the lookout for something a little different. This totally hit the spot. I took others suggestions and only used one egg and only 1.25 lb of ground turkey. As others have said, the sauce is really what makes it and I doubled it. Served it over brown rice and we were really impressed with the flavor! Picky hubby (who actually knew about the tofu!) and 2 yr old ate it up. This is a winner and I'm about to make a freezer meal out of it for later :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Totally delicious. I used 1 lb turkey, 1 lb ground beef, and one package of tofu because that's what I had. Could not even taste the tofu. I think you could get away with 1/2 meat and 1/2 tofu and it would still be great. I made a little extra sauce which was perfect - like a recipe and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This is a great recipe, we have been trying different alternative ways to eat healthier and this is certainly a keeper. My family loved it i will certainly be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofamarine87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States