Glazed Pumpkin Donuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
added 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 tsp more pumpkin pie spice to the batter and used buttermilk instead of regular milk. Made 14 regular sized donuts. baked at 350 for 13 minutes in a donut pan. made the same glaze but half of the recipe size and it covered 11 donuts. the donuts were good with or without the glaze. Note: if you have never used a donut recipe for baking, the dough is not 'pourable' it's thick and sticky and you have to plop it in the pan and shape it into the mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Good, but on the bland side without the glaze. Don't skip it! I didn't follow the glaze directions exactly but close enough. Just didn't measure out and aimed for things by eye. I made 1.5 times the recipe plus a double recipe of another donut and only have about 5 left (family of 5). If this is breakfast alone you'll have to increase the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMURONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
A delicious cake donut! Also, as all ovens vary, you may have to adjust the cooking time a bit for these, or any recipe you make. I have made these for years with great and tasty results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Great flavor.The texture isn't light & fluffy, which I didn't expect, but it also isn't the texture of a cake doughnut. It is very moist, dense, and heavy, just like a muffin. I made them as directed and they turned out ok but I will adjust the recipe next time to see if I can achieve a more doughnut-like texture. Also, I baked them at 325 for 15 minutes and they still were not done, so I adjusted the temperature up to 350 and baked them another 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have been searching for a decent baked donut recipe. This recipe is wonderful! I make mine dairy-free. I substituted light vanilla almond milk for the milk and Earth Balance for the butter. I have made the original pumpkin version. I did add a little cinnamon to the glaze, but it would be good without the cinnamon, too. I have also played with this recipe. I've used homemade chunky applesauce, which is great. The latest was chocolate banana. I substituted banana for the pumpkin and added a 1/4 cup of Hershey's Dark Cocoa powder. For the glaze, I used the light vanilla almond milk instead of water, a half teaspoon of almond extract and a half teaspoon of vanilla (instead of a full teaspoon of vanilla), and 1/3 cup of chocolate chips, 1/4 cup Earth Balance buttery spread, and 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar. Those are our family's favorite so far! Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
These are great. I made them in my donut pan and had a little batter left over once filling up the 12 holes. I'm not crazy about a strong pumpkin taste so I used half a cup of pumpkin and half a cup of applesauce. These are great for breakfast with a coffee or as an afternoon snack for the kids. Even my husband approved!! They are more muffin then donut but I am still a fan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Great Receipe! We sprayed our pan w/the Pam Baking spray w/flour for the 2nd batch and the doughnuts came out much faster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I've made these doughnuts several times and already loved them, but then I tried them with some homemade applesauce (instead of pumpkin) and wow!! Incredible!!! All the wonderful flavor of an apple fritter, but with homemade, soft, yummy goodness! Either way, I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
We made these with the mini Babycakes donut maker. I increased the recipe to 18 servings in order to use a whole 15oz can of Pumpkin. They made about 30 mini donuts. My kids LOVED them and they are not fans of anything other than the expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
FANTASTIC! So simple to make, moist and delicious. The recipe yields exactly 12 and the glaze is the perfect amount. My pic does not do these any justice (sorry, bad lighting, lol)...they are beautiful. I will def be making these again and again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States