Glazed Pearl Onions With Raisins And Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Sooooooo tasty! Yum! For amusement I used golden raisins because they end up looking just like the onions. One of my friends ate half the meal before realizing why it was so sweet :-) But, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, use pre-skinned onions. You do not know the meaning of tedium until you have skinned 150 miniature onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was delicious. I brought it to a pot luck and everyone raved about it. The only change I made was to cook it UNcovered. I cooked it for an hour and a half and the liquid never reduced with it covered. Once I uncovered it, things moved along smoothly. Also, I used two bags of frozen pearl onions to make things go faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I was applauded with these onions and had been asked for the recipe at my dinner party. I used frozen pearl onions the 2nd time as cleaning the onions was tedious. Do not cook the frozen onions the time suggested as it gets mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I had this mixed with white rice and sweet italian sausage and it was delicious! I think this is another recipe where it tastes better the next day after the flavors have had a chance to gel so you might consider making this a day in advance. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
It was a wonderfull dish that i made on christmas for a large group of peaple. I ended up sending the recipie home with 3 peaple. It makes a great dish to go with ham!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This dish made me the hit of the party!! I made it the night before, refrigerated it after cooling it to room temperature, and then reheated it over a skillet. Then I served it bruschetta style on toasted french bread and goat cheese. The combination and flavor were gourmet! The only negative would be how time consuming the process was. I won't do this anytime soon, but the next party I need to impress people ;)...I'll be making this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I made this for Thanksgiving and enjoyed it very much. It was going to take well over 45 minutes to cook down at "very low" so turned mine up a bit and stirred a little more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I too cooked these uncovered. I think I might have chosen the wrong audience for this dish as it wasn't very well received & I thought it was very good. I used golden raisins because I was out of regualr. My one complaint (other than the fact that it didn't wow my guests ;o) ) is that the raisins got a little "charred" but perhaps I caramelized teh onions too much. Thansk Christine... I will try this recipe again on guests w/ a more sophisticated palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My sister made this for Thanksgiving. When she told me the ingredients I thought it sounded really weird. Boy was I wrong, It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gordon-Armstead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Easy to make and a smash hit to taste. This side dish was the first to go at the Christmas table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States