Glazed Pearl Onions With Raisins And Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This recipe is absolutely delicious. I served it with rouladen and it was a great complimentry dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
We LOVE this recipe. These are absolutely addictive! I was lazy so I simplified this and I used a bag of frozen peeled pearl onions that I picked up from Trader Joes. I did not cover them to cook because the frozen onions have alot more water and that worked fine. I am out of almonds so I skipped those altogether. YUMMY in spite of me. I will be serving this as a side dish with many different roasted meats & poultry in the future. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I have been using this recipe on demand of my family for Thanksgiving for many years now. It is delicious with any meat or poultry. I use golden raisins, sherry vinegar, and on occasion I've added some shredded carrot at the end for color. This is now a family recipe that I will be passing on to the younger cooks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have made this many times and it always get rave reviews. Thanks so much. Just had today with the Thanksgiving turkey. My son loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I made this as an appetizer for our "sibling and spouses" Christmas dinner (read "all adults"!), and everyone liked it. I used the frozen onions to save time; dried thyme, because my fresh had frozen in the unusually heavy snows the days before Christmas; dried cranberries (it was Christmas, after all!) and sherry vinegar. I toasted baguette slices, and topped them with the warm onion mixture and goat cheese. I think I will try this next time without the thyme (I'm not a fan), maybe some rosemary (one of my favorite herbs), and some extra pepper for some "oomph". Loved the basic idea - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Great recipe. Don't be tempted to use frozen onions. There is a huge difference in taste between the fresh and the frozen ones. Yes, it takes a while to squeeze the onions out of the skin, but well worth the extra effort. In fact, I would recommend never using frozen vegetables. They just aren't as flavorful as fresh and usually have a taste of being watered down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
The sauce was AMAZING! the honey, red vineger, and the sherry went so well together... I'm just not so much an onion person, though I didn't mind them much in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My sister made this for Thanksgiving. When she told me the ingredients I thought it sounded really weird. Boy was I wrong, It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Armstead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I too cooked these uncovered. I think I might have chosen the wrong audience for this dish as it wasn't very well received & I thought it was very good. I used golden raisins because I was out of regualr. My one complaint (other than the fact that it didn't wow my guests ;o) ) is that the raisins got a little "charred" but perhaps I caramelized teh onions too much. Thansk Christine... I will try this recipe again on guests w/ a more sophisticated palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was delicious. I brought it to a pot luck and everyone raved about it. The only change I made was to cook it UNcovered. I cooked it for an hour and a half and the liquid never reduced with it covered. Once I uncovered it, things moved along smoothly. Also, I used two bags of frozen pearl onions to make things go faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States